CENTRAL LYON BOARD MINUTES MAY 13, 2015

The Central Lyon Board of Directors met in regular session in the Board Room of the Central Lyon Community School at 5:00PM with the following members present: President Steve Sieperda, Vice-President Judy Gacke, Directors Scott Postma, Chet DeJong and David Jans, Superintendent David Ackerman and Board Secretary Jackie Wells. Other individuals present were EL/MS Principal Dan Kruse, Assistant Principal/Activities Director Steve Harman, Kyra Lupkes, Stephanie Baker, Jessica Jensen, Julie Boekhout, Sara Groen, Megan Whitsell, Tana Meyer, Jen Pedersen, Terri Pedersen, Dana Altman, Matt Deutsch, Kayla Koob, Dez Kop, David Springer, Heather Springer and Hunter Huisman.

The meeting was called to order at 5:00 P.M. Gacke moved to approve the agenda with additional bills presented and an additional resignation under Personnel; DeJong seconded, carried 5-0.

DeJong moved to approve the minutes from the April 15, 2015 regular board meeting; Postma seconded, carried 5-0.

Discussion took place on district cash balance, district tax levy and cash reserve levies. Director Jans requested an additional cumulative summary report for the 3 year General Fund trend which will be provided going forward. President Sieperda requested historical information on activity fund balances. Gacke moved to approve the financial report through April 30, 2015; DeJong seconded, carried 5-0.

DeJong moved to approve the summary list of bills, additional bills included; Jans seconded, carried 5-0.

In recognition, the month of May is designated as School Board Recognition Month. Administration expressed their appreciation for each of the board members and their role in increasing student achievement within the Central Lyon Community School District. Women's Action Club was thanked for a \$700 donation. Local emergency personnel including EMT's, the fire department, the police department, Jurrens' Funeral Home and countless others were thanked for their involvement in the mock accident in April. Darsha Tuenge and Brett Huisman were thanked for their assistance in carting golfers during recent home golf meets. Sherriff VanderStoep was thanked for providing the DEAR program information to 6th grade students. The Central Lyon Foundation was thanked for providing over \$10,000 in grants to staff. Seventh grade math bee students were recognized for their recent success.

In public participation on non-agenda items, Jen Pedersen, Dana Altman and Heather Springer addressed the board regarding the future plans of the current 4 sections of

Kindergarten going into 1st grade as well as other services provided to the students. They expressed concerns over class size and class needs.

In Reports, Superintendent/HS Principal Ackerman presented FAST scores and benchmarks for grades TK/K - 3, current enrollment and class sizes. Discussion took place on current Kindergarten enrollment, class demographics and class needs. Mr. Ackerman presented the option of a part-time Reading Specialist to assist the non-proficient needs of the class as an alternative to a 4^{th} section for the class. Administration would continue to monitor the class enrollment as registration takes place this summer.

Mr. Ackerman reported that the construction project is going well. The office staff will wait to move until school is out to minimize student and staff disruption. Mr. Ackerman presented insurance renewal information and predicted an additional annual cost of \$225,000 for insurance coverage requirements. Mr. Ackerman informed the board that he will be inviting 1998 board members to the June meeting for recognition to coincide with the final payment of the 1998 MS/HS addition.

In New Business, DeJong moved to approve the annual service contract for technology/network assistance with Premier Communications and Postma seconded, carried 5-0. Jans moved to approve change orders A4 in the amount of \$3,824.74, 5 in the amount of \$280.21, 10 in the amount of \$938.44 and 3 in the amount of \$2,118.92 for the construction project. Gacke seconded, carried 5-0.

In Personnel, Gacke moved to approve the resignations of Ashley Teunissen, EL Special Education Teacher; Dale Jansma, MS boys' basketball, pending suitable replacement; Patty Perrett, Concession Stand Co-Manager; Dan Snyder, Weight Room Coordinator, pending suitable replacement; Jason Engleman, MS Boys' Basketball. Jans seconded, carried 5-0.

DeJong moved to approve the hiring of Patrice Peters, HS Special Education Teacher; Krisit Kahl, EL Special Education Teacher; Mitch Prechon, 3rd Grade Teacher; Mandi Hare, MS Science Teacher; Denise Kirchhoff and Melissa Lockey, Extended School Year (ESY) Teachers; Taylor Bosch, ESY Paraprofessionals; Jodi Schrick, Kate Gerber, Natalie Larson and Linda Wessels, Summer Reading Program; Ray Roseland, Drivers Education Instructor; Kalen Eckenrod, Ross Ackerman and Jaren Schrick, Summer Seasonal help; Kelly Weiler, MS Track. Postma seconded, carried 5-0.

The next regular scheduled board meeting will be at 7:00PM on Monday, June 8, 2015.

DeJong moved to adjourn at 6:57 P.M.; Jans seconded, carried 5-0.