CENTRAL LYON BOARD MINUTES June 14, 2010

The Central Lyon Board of Directors met for a work session in the Board Room of the Central Lyon Community School at 6:00 P.M. with the following members present: Vice President Chet DeJong and Directors Patrick McCarty, Gail VanBerkum, and Judy Gacke and Superintendent David Ackerman. President Steve Sieperda was absent.

McCarty moved to enter into closed session at 6:00 P.M. under Iowa Code 21.5 1 (I), Superintendent Evaluation. Van Berkum seconded and in a roll call vote, 4 aye, 0 nay.

Gacke moved to leave closed session at 6:52 P.M.; McCarty seconded, carried 4-0.

The Central Lyon Board of Directors met in regular session in the Board Room of the Central Lyon Community School at 7:00 P.M. with the following members present: Vice President Chet DeJong, and Directors Patrick McCarty, Gail VanBerkum, and Judy Gacke and Superintendent David Ackerman. Other individuals present were HS Principal Curt Busch, EL/MS Principal Dan Kruse, and Jodie Hoogendoorn. President Steve Sieperda and Board Secretary Jackie Wells were absent.

The meeting was called to order at 7:06 P.M.

Gacke moved to approve the agenda and McCarty seconded, carried 4-0.

Van Berkum moved to approve the minutes from the May 5, 2010 special meeting; McCarty seconded, carried 4-0.

Gacke moved to approve the financial report through 5/31/10; McCarty seconded, carried 4-0.

Van Berkum moved to approve the summary list of bills; McCarty seconded, carried 4-0.

In recognition, girls track team members and coaches were recognized for their state track meet qualification and first place finishes. Ashley Bloemendaal was recognized for her 6th place State 1A golf finish. Nathan Hanson and Jon Ritter along with Tammy Hoppe were recognized for their success at the All-Conference Art Show.

In public participation on non-agenda items, Luke Broesder called and apologized for his involvement in the llama incident last year.

In reports, EL/MS Principal Dan Kruse reported book use in EL/MS Library in 2009-2010. The Central Lyon reading program has started. Mr. Kruse reported that the district will receive approximately \$91,000 in grant money for the state-wide four year old preschool. Additional information will be made available to the public as received. HS Principal Curt Busch reported on credit recovery software options.

In New Business, Van Berkum moved to approve the transportation agreement with Mid-Sioux Opportunity, Inc./Head Start for the 2010-2011 school year with reimbursement at \$1.25 per mile; Gacke seconded, carried 4-0. McCarty moved to approve the Health Services Agreement for the 2010-2011 school year and Gacke seconded, carried 4-0. McCarty moved to approve Superintendent Sharing with George-Little Rock at .40 FTE for the 2010-2011 school year;

Gacke seconded, carried 4-0. McCarty moved to approve the wellness policy revision and Van Berkum seconded, carried 4-0. Van Berkum moved to appoint Randy Waagmeester as District Legal Counsel; Gacke seconded, carried 4-0. Gacke moved to appoint Jackie Wells as Board Secretary/Treasurer for the 2010-2011 school year; Van Berkum seconded, carried 4-0. Van Berkum moved to appoint Jessica Harman and Toby Lorenzen, Level I Investigators; Jan Meester and Cindy Witt as Level I Alternate Investigators; the Rock Rapids Police Department, Level II Investigators for allegations of child abuse by school district employees; and Jessica Harman and Cindy Witt as Title IX and PL 504 grievances; McCarty seconded, carried 4-0. McCarty moved to approve David Ackerman as the district's Affirmative Action/Equity Coordinator; Gacke seconded, carried 4-0. Gacke moved to table approval of District/Superintendent Goals and McCarty seconded, carried 4-0. McCarty moved to approve the 2010-2011 staff and student handbooks with various changes: Van Berkum seconded, carried 4-0. Gacke moved to approve Breakfast and Lunch Prices for 2010-2011 with no changes made. Van Berkum seconded, carried 4-0. Van Berkum moved to approve student fees for the 2010-2011 school year with no changes made; McCarty seconded, carried 4-0. Gacke moved to approve the disposal bid from Town & Country and for the period of July 1, 2010 through June 30, 2011 and the fuel bid with Popkes Car Care Inc. for the period of July 1, 2010 through June 30, 2011 at a discount rate from the pump price of .056 for gasoline and .077 for diesel; McCarty seconded, carried 4-0. McCarty moved to approve the administration/Supervisor benefits for 2010-2011; Van Berkum seconded, carried 4-0.

In personnel, McCarty moved to approve the hiring of Sabrina Sieperda and Korey McDonald, Summer Weight Room Supervisors; Peggy Groves, Leslee VanDyke & Cheryl Van Beek as Cheerleading Advisors; Van Berkum seconded, carried 4-0. Gacke moved to approve the resignation of Matt Deutsch, pending suitable replacement, Assistant Baseball Coach; Mary Klinkenborg, HS Secretary and Nicole Duin, LPN/Paraprofessional; McCarty seconded, carried 4-0.

The next regular board meeting will be at 7:00 P.M. on Monday, July 19, 2010 in the Central Lyon board room. There will be work session at 6:00 P.M. concerning district goals before the regular board meeting.

McCarty moved to adjourn at 7:56 P.M. and Van Berkum seconded, carried 4-0.