CENTRAL LYON BOARD MINUTES June 13, 2011

The Central Lyon Board of Directors met for a work session in the Board Room of the Central Lyon Community School at 5:30 P.M. with the following members present: President Steve Sieperda and Directors Patrick McCarty, Gail Van Berkum, and Judy Gacke and Superintendent David Ackerman. Vice President Chet DeJong was absent.

Gacke moved to enter into closed session at 5:33 P.M. under Iowa Code 21.5 1 (I), Superintendent Evaluation. McCarty seconded and in a roll call vote, 4 aye, 0 nay.

Gacke moved to leave closed session at 6:57 P.M.; Van Berkum seconded, carried 4-0.

The Central Lyon Board of Directors met in regular session in the Board Room of the Central Lyon Community School at 7:00 P.M. with the following members present: President Steve Sieperda, Vice President Chet DeJong and Directors Patrick McCarty, Gail Van Berkum, and Judy Gacke and Superintendent David Ackerman and Board Secretary Jackie Wells. Other individuals present were EL/MS Principal Dan Kruse, Joella Postma, Brenda Deutsch, Jeff Benson, Roger Oliver, Dave Jans, Laureen Schram, Denise Snyders, Julie Boekhout, Toby Lorenzen, Steve Breske, Stephanie Baker, Katie Olson, Emily Deutsch, Matt Deutsch, Michelle Van Wyhe and Jodie Hoogendoorn.

The meeting was called to order at 7:05 P.M.

McCarty moved to approve the agenda and Van Berkum seconded, carried 4-0.

Van Berkum moved to approve the minutes from the May 9, 2011 meeting; Gacke seconded, carried 4-0.

McCarty moved to approve the financial report through 5/31/11; Gacke seconded, carried 4-0.

Van Berkum moved to approve the summary list of bills; McCarty seconded, carried 4-0.

In recognition, track team members and coaches were recognized for their successful seasons. Mariah Wills-Olson was recognized for being named Mid Sioux Volunteer of the Year for Lyon County. Several Beta groups and WAC were recognized for their contributions to the Central Lyon Reading Program (Title I). Pete and Von Pettengill were thanked for their donation of sand to the ball complex.

In reports, Denise Snyders presented information about May Term, fun facts, history and showed part of a video created by staff and students. Joella Postma informed the board that lunch prices will increase by \$.10 each year until reaching the level of \$2.46. This is mandated by the state. EL/MS Principal Dan Kruse reported book use in EL/MS Library in 2010-2011. Mr. Kruse also reported on Iowa Core Curriculum changes for the 11/12. The district will have a K-12 plan in place by the end of next fiscal year. Mr. Kruse informed the board that Kids Club Wee School and Latch Key will be moving to the lower elementary due to increasing numbers of students in district between grades preschool – 8^{th} . Enrollment is predicted to be over 500 in these grades for 11/12.

Vice President DeJong arrived at 7:29 P.M.

In Old Business, Gacke moved to table any preschool changes due to legislative action until the next meeting; McCarty seconded, carried 5-0.

McCarty moved to approve the lighting bid with Dakota Supply Group in the amount of \$31,875.98 and Van Berkum seconded, carried 5-0.

In New Business, DeJong moved to approve the transportation agreement with Mid-Sioux Opportunity, Inc./Head Start for the 2011-2012 school year with reimbursement at \$1.25 per mile; Van Berkum seconded, carried 5-0. Van Berkum moved to approve the Health Services Agreement for the 2011-2012 school year and Gacke seconded, carried 4-0 with DeJong abstaining from the vote. McCarty moved to appoint Randy Waagmeester as District Legal Counsel; DeJong seconded, carried 5-0. Gacke moved to appoint Jackie Wells as Board Secretary/Treasurer for the 2011-2012 school year; Van Berkum seconded, carried 5-0. Van Berkum moved to appoint Jessica Harman and Toby Lorenzen, Level I Investigators; Jan Meester and Cindy Witt as Level I Alternate Investigators; the Rock Rapids Police Department, Level II Investigators for allegations of child abuse by school district employees; and Jessica Harman and Cindy Witt as Title IX and PL 504 grievances; McCarty seconded, carried 5-0. Gacke moved to approve David Ackerman as the district's Affirmative Action/Equity Coordinator; McCarty seconded, carried 5-0. McCarty moved to table approval of District/Superintendent Goals and Van Berkum seconded, carried 5-0. McCarty moved to approve the 2011-2012 Kids Club Agreement, DeJong seconded, carried 5-0. DeJong moved to approve Breakfast and Lunch Prices for 2011-2012 and increases to drivers education fees and substitute wages; Gacke seconded, carried 4-0 with McCarty abstaining from the vote. Van Berkum moved to approve the Iowa Association for Educational Purchasing Agreement; McCarty seconded, carried 5-0. DeJong moved to approve the disposal bid from Denny's Sanitation and for the period of July 1, 2011 through June 30, 2012 and the fuel bid with Popkes Car Care Inc. for the period of July 1, 2011 through June 30, 2012 at a discount rate from the pump price of .077 for diesel and Cooperative Energy Co for a period of July 1, 2011 through June 30, 2012 at a discount rate from the pump price of \$.07 and lawn care bid with Rapid Grow Lawn Service for the period of 7/1, 2011 through June 30, 2012; Van Berkum seconded, carried 5-0. Gacke moved to *table* the administration/Supervisor benefits for 2011-2012; DeJong seconded, carried 5-0.

In personnel, DeJong moved to approve the resignation of Beth VanderZee, High School Secretary; Kayla Engleman, RN/Paraprofessional; Dave Fields, full time bus driver. McCarty seconded, carried 5-0. Van Berkum moved to approve the resignation of Jerry Pytleski, Head Baseball Coach, pending suitable replacement; McCarty seconded, carried 5-0. DeJong moved to approve the following hirings for the 2011-2012 school year: Bill Kroon, full time bus driver; Ashley Teunissen, Special Education Teacher; Jodi Schrick, Transitional Kindergarten (.6FTE) and HS Media Center (.4FTE). Gacke seconded, carried 5-0.

The next regular board meeting will be at 7:00 P.M. on Monday, July 18, 2011 in the Central Lyon board room.

McCarty moved to adjourn at 8:22 P.M. and Van Berkum seconded, carried 5-0.