## CENTRAL LYON BOARD MINUTES April 9, 2014

The Central Lyon Board of Directors met for a budget hearing in the Board Room of the Central Lyon Community School at 5:20 P.M. with the following members present: President Steve Sieperda, Vice President Judy Gacke, Directors David Jans, Chet DeJong, and Scott Postma and Superintendent/HS Principal Dave Ackerman and Board Secretary Jackie Wells. Other individuals present were EL/MS Principal Dan Kruse, Julie Boekhout, Justin Christensen, Jason Engleman, Allison Holtgrewe, Denise Kirchhoff, Stephanie Baker, Matt Deutsch, Jamie Helmers, Dale Jansma, Andrew Stegemann, Amy Jans, Emily Deutsch, Curtis Eben and Jessica Jensen.

The hearing was called to order at 5:20 P.M. by President Steve Sieperda. Gacke moved to approve the agenda, DeJong seconded; carried 5-0.

DeJong moved to approve the Proof of Publication and Postma seconded, carried 5-0.

After no discussion from the general public, the hearing was closed at 5:26 P.M. with a motion from DeJong, seconded by Jans; carried 5-0.

The Central Lyon Board of Directors met in regular session in the Board Room of the Central Lyon Community School at 5:30 P.M. with the following members present: President Steve Sieperda, Vice President Judy Gacke, Directors David Jans, Chet DeJong, and Scott Postma and Superintendent/HS Principal Dave Ackerman and Board Secretary Jackie Wells. Other individuals present were EL/MS Principal Dan Kruse, Julie Boekhout, Justin Christensen, Jason Engleman, Allison Holtgrewe, Denise Kirchhoff, Stephanie Baker, Matt Deutsch, Jamie Helmers, Dale Jansma, Andrew Stegemann, Amy Jans, Emily Deutsch, Curtis Eben and Jessica Jensen.

The meeting was called to order at 5:30 P.M.

DeJong moved to approve the agenda with additional board bills; Jans seconded, carried 5-0. DeJong moved to approve the minutes from the March 10, 2014 regular board meeting and March 25, 2014 special board meeting and Postma seconded, carried 5-0. Jans moved to approve the financial report through 3/31/14 and Gacke seconded, carried 5-0. Gacke moved to approve the summary list of bills; Jans seconded, carried 5-0.

In recognition, Frontier Bank was thanked for its \$75 donation to robotics, Slade's for its ice cream donation to Robotics and Schweitzer Engineering Laboratories, Inc for a \$500 donation to the robotics program. The robotics team and sponsor were recognized for a successful season. Sarah Halse was recognized for her 1<sup>st</sup> team all-district region 1 class 1A Northwest Iowa selection for basketball. Nic Lutmer was recognized for being selected 3<sup>rd</sup> team Iowa Newspaper Association. Xi Zeta Kappa Chapter of Beta Sigma Pi was thanked for a \$100 donation to Title I. The Jazz band and sponsor was recognized for its selection to the state contest. Chastity Henrichs was recognized for outstanding soloist. Sunshine was thanked for its donation to the hot lunch program. Congratulations to individual state speech participants Mickee Witt, Aric Knoblock, Wynter Roths, Emily DeJong, Jacob Tilstra, Austin Thomas and Alison Wright. Aric Knoblock and Emily DeJong were recognized for being selected to perform at the Iowa Individual All-State Speech Festival.

Principal Kruse reported that staff continues to attend ICC meetings as required by the state of Iowa. Mr. Kruse reported on next year's enrollment projections for lower grade levels are as

follows: 4 year old preschool at 45, TK at 28 and Kindergarten at 68. Administration recommended a 2<sup>nd</sup> section of TK and a fourth section of Kindergarten for 2014-2015.

Director Postma reported that the Central Lyon Foundation awarded all Lion Grant applicants, approved funding 60 backpacks for the 1:1 initiative and one cart of tablets for district use.

Superintendent/HS Principal Ackerman reported on architect progress and building projects. Discussion took place on drawings for the two office expansions/security entrances and the proposed wrestling room/weight room projects. Mr. Ackerman recommended leaving the liaison officer position/agreement as is but altering the schedule so that the officer is in district every day from 8-11:30am and available on an emergency basis. Mr. Ackerman presented information on sharing incentives for Guidance Counselors and will set up an interview and meeting with a neighboring district to pursue a .5FTE K-6 Guidance position for next year. Mr. Harman presented a district wide Risk Management System flowchart that will be utilized with addition of a K-6 Guidance Counselor. Members counseled administrators to develop a measure of success of the new system and staff. Mr. Ackerman informed the board that the district has accepted a 9.75% renewal with Sanford for health insurance. More information regarding the Affordable Care Act will be made available as received.

Technology Director Curtis Eben presented the technology purchases and plan for 2014-2015 consisting of 135 new/replacement units for the 1:1 initiative, elementary carts and staff laptops. With these purchases, the district will have over 800 units and 16 servers to meet the growing technology needs. Mr. Eben urged members to consider adding a technology integrationist to assist staff members with their instructional needs.

In Old Business, Director Jans presented a purchase plan for student school supplies grades TK-5<sup>th</sup> for 2014-2015. The proposed plan would equal approximately 6% of casino funds for approximately 60% of students. Other members' concerns included care of custody, disbursement and inventory, variety and future purchase plans. More information will be presented at a future board meeting.

In New Business, DeJong moved to adopt the 2014-2015 School Budget with the tax rate at \$13.40314 and Gacke seconded, carried 5-0. The tax rate will increase by approximately \$.02 over the current year.

Gacke introduced the 101% Budget Guarantee Resolution and moved its adoption. DeJong seconded and in a roll call vote, 5 aye, 0 nay.

DeJong moved to approve the IA Association for Education (IAEP) Purchasing Agreement for 2014-2015. Jans seconded, carried 5-0.

Jans moved to approve Policy 415.0A Revision, Early Retirement Incentive – Administrators, and waived the 2<sup>nd</sup> reading. Postma seconded, carried 5-0. Gacke moved to approve Policy 507.9 Revision, Wellness Policy and waived the 2<sup>nd</sup> reading. Jans seconded, carried 5-0.

Gacke moved to approve eliminating a part-time Special Education position and DeJong seconded, carried 5-0.

In personnel, DeJong moved to approve the resignations of Jill Devit, Co-Large Group Speech Advisor, pending suitable replacement; Jessica Kruse, Football Cheerleading Advisor; Meredith VanderZee, JV Girls Basketball Coach. Postma seconded, carried 5-0.

Jans moved to approve the following voluntary transfer; Ben Gerleman from MS Math to HS Business. Postma seconded, carried 5-0.

DeJong moved to approve the following hirings: Sandra Allen, MS & HS English; Mike Groen, MS Math; Heather Grafing, 5<sup>th</sup> Grade; Kelly Weiler, Special Education Teacher; Ashley Rypkema, Kindergarten Teacher. Gacke seconded, carried 5-0.

The next regular board meeting will be at 7:00 P.M. on Monday, May 12, 2014 in the Central Lyon board room.

DeJong moved to adjourn at 7:41 P.M. and Postma seconded, carried 5-0.