CENTRAL LYON BOARD MINUTES April 15, 2015

The Central Lyon Board of Directors met in regular session in the Board Room of the Central Lyon Community School at 5:00 P.M. with the following members present: Vice President Judy Gacke, Directors David Jans, Chet DeJong, and Scott Postma and Superintendent/HS Principal Dave Ackerman and Board Secretary Jackie Wells. Other individuals present were EL/MS Principal Dan Kruse, Assistant Principal/Activities Director Steve Harman, Julie Boekhout, Megan Whitsell, Jennifer Pedersen, Kayla Koob, Rochelle Herbert, Alyssa Laleman, Kristin Vande Kop, Terri Pedersen, Kari Davis, Tana Meyer, Jill Pytleski, Ben Docker, Dana Altman, Dan Nebelsick, Rachel McCarthy, Jason Engleman, Allison Holtgrewe, Stephanie Baker, Emily Deutsch, and Jessica Jensen. President Steve Sieperda was absent.

The meeting was called to order at 5:00 P.M.

DeJong moved to approve the agenda with additional board bills; Postma seconded, carried 3-0. DeJong moved to approve the minutes from the March 18, 2015 regular board meeting and Postma seconded, carried 3-0. Director Jans arrived at 5:02 P.M. Postma moved to approve the financial report through 3/31/15 and Jans seconded, carried 4-0. Jans moved to approve the summary list of bills; DeJong seconded, carried 4-0.

In recognition, the family of the late Minnie Doekson was thanked for their donation to the Backpack Program. Mr. Langholdt and the Jazz Band were recognized for their performance at state with Alison Wright and Michael Postma receiving individual solo recognition. Marsha Boyle was thanked for a donation to the golf program. Kyra VanBerkum, Maria Metzger, Eliora Enriquez, Ethan Warner and Emerson Kelderman were recognized for their winning entries in the Northwest Iowa Reading Council. Sixth grade math bee participants Beau Daniels, Luke Rasmussen, Melissa Postma, Kalen Meyer and Isabelle Schneidermann were recognized for their recent success. Sarah Halse and Angel Rasmussen were recognized for being named to Northwest Iowa Review teams. Nic Nelson and Briar Cliff were thanked for use of facilities.

In public participation on non-agenda items, Rochelle Herbert, Kristin Vande Kop, Dan Nebelsick, Rachel McCarthy, Jennifer Pedersen, and Julie Boekhout addressed the board regarding the future plans of the current 4 sections of Kindergarten going into 1st grade as well as other services provided to the students. Superintendent Ackerman provided information regarding district financials, current and projected enrollment, and several factors that will contribute to the decision of class sizes. The district does not have a policy setting class size; the board uses a variety of information to make decisions.

Principal Kruse reported that the After School Program started at the end of the first quarter ended on April 15th with an average of 17 students per day. Due to the construction, the district is researching the option of hosting the Summer Reading Program at the public library. Middle school students are taking part in a competition on vocabulary.com with Mrs. Boeve. Mr. Kruse requested that art supplies be replenished through casino funds; the board asked for more detailed information.

Assistant Principal/Activities Director Steve Harman presented a preliminary report on the accounts within the activity fund.

Superintendent/HS Principal Ackerman reported that a mock accident will take place for grades 9-12 with the Sherriff's office and local emergency personnel. Parents were notified via JMC. There will be an early dismissal on April 24^{th} for teacher collaboration. Prom is also the 24^{th}

with after-prom festivities planned for students and their guests. Mr. Ackerman updated the board on the construction project and deadlines. Mr. Ackerman presented the board with an IASB regarding board and district goals.

In New Business, DeJong moved to approve the IA Association for Education (IAEP) Purchasing Agreement for 2015-2016. Postma seconded, carried 4-0.

DeJong moved to approve the 2015-2016 school calendar and Jans seconded, carried 4-0.

Jans moved to approve Grant & Williams, Inc for District Auditor Services for the fiscal years ending 2016, 2017, and 2018. Postma seconded, carried 4-0.

In personnel, Postma moved to approve the resignations of Greg Towne, MS Girls Basketball Coach; Sandra Allen, Co-Large Group Speech and Individual Speech; Jill Devitt, Co-Large Group Speech – all pending suitable replacement. Jans seconded, carried 4-0. DeJong moved to approve the voluntary transfer of Kelli Docker from HS Special Education to 6th Grade, pending suitable replacement and Postma seconded, carried 4-0. Postma moved to approve the following hirings: Rochelle Bloemendal, increase from .69 FTE to 1.0 FTE; Heather Grafing, Head Girls' Basketball coach; Greg Towne, Assistant Girls' Basketball coach; Geoff Kruse, Assistant Girls' Basketball coach; Megan Whitsell, MS Volleyball coach; Jason Engleman, 5-8 Principal/Activities Director. DeJong seconded, carried 4-0. DeJong moved to approve the following TLC positions: Stephanie Baker, 1st Grade Model Teacher; Laureen Schram, 2nd – 4th grade Model Teacher; Tammy Hoppe, 5-12 Model Teacher; Jamie Schar, Lead Teacher – Data Analysis. Jans seconded, carried 4-0.

The next regular board meeting will be at 5:00 P.M. on Wednesday, May 13, 2015 in the Central Lyon board room.

DeJong moved to adjourn at 6:28 P.M. and Jans seconded, carried 4-0.