CENTRAL LYON BOARD MINUTES December 10, 2014

The Central Lyon Board of Directors met in regular session in the Board Room of the Central Lyon Community School at 5:00 P.M. with the following members present: President Steve Sieperda, Vice-President Judy Gacke, Directors Scott Postma, Chet DeJong and David Jans and Superintendent Dave Ackerman and Board Secretary Jackie Wells. Other individuals present were EL/MS Principal Dan Kruse, Assistant Principal/Activities Director Steve Harman, Rochelle Ebel, Kristi Wright, Hunter Huisman, Amy Sieperda, Jason Engleman and Jerry Pytleski.

The meeting was called to order at 5:00 P.M.

Gacke moved to approve the agenda and Postma seconded, carried 5-0.

Jans moved to approve the minutes from the November 10, 2014 regular meeting and November 18, 2014 special meeting; Postma seconded, carried 5-0.

Jans moved to approve the financial report through 11/30/14; Gacke seconded, carried 5-0.

DeJong moved to approve the summary list of bills; Jans seconded, carried 5-0.

In recognition, in volleyball, Sarah Halse was recognized for 1st team all Siouxland Conference, 2^{nd} team Des Moines Register, all state tournament team, Northwest Iowa Review 1^{st} team. Angel Rasumussen was recognized 1st team all Siouxland Conference, all state tournament team, Northwest Iowa Review 2nd team. Ivy Sieperda was recognized 2nd team all Siouxland Conference, 1st team Des Moines Register. Sydney Petersen was recognized 3rd team all Siouxland Conference. Ashley Boer was recognized 2nd team all Siouxland Conference. KIWA player of the week on October 7th. Becca Roskam was recognized for all Siouxland Conference Honorable Mention. Shaylee Struckman was recognized for academic all state. The following businesses were thanked for their contributions to state volleyball: Frontier Bank, New Century Press, GlynLyon, DGR, Heimensen Olson Financial, Premier Communications, Halse & Co, Pizza Ranch, H&S Home, and Premier Bank. The following football players were recognized for their successful football seasons: Tom Schilling, Travis VanderStreek, Grant Metzger, Alex Waagmeester, Colby McIntire, Pete Menage, CJ Roths, Nic Lutmer and Nash Knobloch. Luke Rasmussen was recognized for his selection and performance with the Opus Honor Choir in Ames on November 20th. The Middle School Mock Trial team was recognized for their state qualification and performance in November. Zach Springer was named All State Witness, Tanner VandenTop was named All State Attorney and the following received honorable mention: Zed Heimensen, Caitlin Simon, Andrew DeNoble, Kade Griesse and Tori Stubbe. Special thanks to Terry VanBerkum, Melinda Folkens, Jen Wippert and Shayne Mayer for their contributions to the program. Corev & Heather Heimensen were thanked for their \$100 donation to the MS Mock Trial team and travel expenses.

In reports, Principal Dan Kruse reported that ICC survey results will be shared at the January 19, 2015 in-service.

President Sieperda reported that several homes will be deducted from the residential tax base due to the 2014 flood. This will affect the district budget in fiscal year 2016 and the budget committee will need to be mindful of these possible deductions. Mr. Sieperda also reported the Riverboat Foundation is encouraging more grant applications from within the county.

Superintendent Ackerman reported that Central Lyon will participate in disaster relief grants with other surrounding school districts. The construction project is on schedule and meetings are taking place every two weeks between contractors and administration. The Kids Club Easement request has been extended from 29 feet to 50 feet near the bus garage with attorneys working on the language. Mr. Ackerman reported that future administration discussion will take place after the district is informed of its TLC Grant Application decision.

In New Business, DeJong moved to approve Modified Allowable Growth for At-Risk/Drop-Out Potential for FY16 in the amount of \$192,816; Jans seconded, carried 5-0.

Gacke moved to approve David Jans as the board member for the Lyon County Assessors Conference Board. DeJong seconded, carried 5-0.

Gacke moved to approve calendar revisions and Postma seconded, carried 5-0.

Gacke moved to approve a resolution of support for Lyon County Riverboat Foundation application for Lyon's Den Wrestling Mats in the amount of \$12,000 and Jans seconded, in a roll call vote, 5 aye, 0 nay.

The next regular board meeting will be at 7:00 P.M. on Monday, January 12, 2015 in the Central Lyon board room.

Jans moved to adjourn at 5:41 P.M. and Gacke seconded, carried 5-0.