## CENTRAL LYON BOARD MINUTES December 14, 2016

The Central Lyon Board of Directors met in regular session in the Board Room of the Central Lyon Community School at 5:00 P.M. with the following members present: President David Jans, Vice-President Scott Postma, Directors Andy Koob, Joel DeWit and Keri Davis and Superintendent Dave Ackerman and Board Secretary Jackie Wells. Other individuals present were EL Principal Steve Harman, MS Principal/Activities Director Jason Engleman, Terry Van Berkum, Rochelle Ebel, Stephanie Baker, Jessica Jensen, and Greg Spiess.

The meeting was called to order at 5:00 P.M.

Postma moved to approve the agenda with additional bills presented and Koob seconded, carried 4-0.

Koob moved to approve the minutes from the November 14, 2016 regular meeting; DeWit seconded, carried 4-0.

Postma moved to approve the financial report through 11/30/16; DeWit seconded, carried 4-0.

Director Davis arrived at 5:07 P.M.

Koob moved to approve the summary list of bills; Davis seconded, carried 5-0.

In recognition, the following students were recognized for their achievements in volleyball: All District- Hope Rasmussen and Ashley Boer; All State- Hope Rasmussen and Ashley Boer; Academic All - State- Hope Rasmussen; All Conference 1st team: Hope Rasmussen and Ashley Boer; 2nd team: Carly Snyder; 3rd team: Becca Roskam; Honorable Mention Maddie Elbert; Review (Newspaper team) 2<sup>nd</sup> team – Hope Rasmussen and 3<sup>rd</sup> team- Ashley Boer. Carly Snyder has broken the school record for assists in her career at Central Lyon (2015-2016) charting a total of 1,346 assists. Ashley Boer has broken the school record for digs in her career at Central Lyon (2013-2016) tabulating a total of 1,436 digs.

The following students were recognized for their achievements in football: Class 2A Des Moines Register's All-Iowa football team, Defense- Mitch VanBeek; All-District 1st Team - Riley Van Wyhe, Jaydon Baker, Brandt Boekhout, Devin Burgers, Alek Aeikens, Parker Metzger, Nick White, Austin Winkel, Lucas Nagel, Mitch Van Beek --- Defense and Special Teams MVP.

Terry Van Berkum was thanked for his years of service and recognized for being inducted into the Iowa Mock Trail Educator & Coach Hall of Fame.

The United Methodist Church Quilters and Steen Reformed Church were thanked for donations to the district.

President David Jans was recognized for the IASB Basics of Boardsmanship Certificate.

In reports, Greg Spiess of Advanced Systems, Inc presented a copier lease and maintenance report.

President Jans gave a brief recap of his attendance at the Iowa Association of School Boards Convention

Principal Harman and Principal Engleman reported that students PK-12 donated 3,960 food items to Mid Sioux Opportunity and ATLAS of Lyon County.

Superintendent Ackerman reported that a recent food service/hot lunch audit with the state of Iowa went well. Four minor findings were noted and applicable changes have been made. Mr. Ackerman reviewed the district's Special Education weighting report from the fall student count. Mr. Ackerman requested committee meetings be scheduled to discuss future administrative staffing changes and staffing needs based on student population and projected funding.

In New Business, DeWit moved to approve a resolution of support for Lyon County Riverboat Foundation application for playground equipment and safety ground covering for the Elementary Playground in the amount of \$23,574.86. DeWit moved to approve a resolution of support for Lyon County Riverboat Foundation application for middle school marching band drum line equipment in the amount of \$5,768.60. Davis seconded, carried 5-0.

DeWit moved to nominate Kyle Grimes of Sibley-Ocheyedan Schools as the district's candidate for IASB director district #1 and Koob seconded, carried 5-0.

Koob moved to approve the Modified Supplemental Amount (previously modified allowable growth) for At-Risk/Drop-Out Potential for 2017-2018 in the amount of \$227,814; Davis seconded, carried 5-0.

Postma moved to approve the purchase of a food service steam kettle from John's Equipment Sales in the amount of \$12,587.07 and Davis seconded, carried 5-0.

DeWit moved to approve the School Improvement Advisory Committee (SIAC) including David Jans and Keri Davis as board representatives. Postma seconded, carried 5-0.

In personnel, Postma moved to approve the early retirement request from Terry Van Berkum effective at the end of the 2016-2017 school year and Koob seconded, carried 5-0. Postma moved to approve the hiring of Travis Vander Streek, volunteer wrestling coach. DeWit seconded, carried 5-0.

The next regular board meeting will be at 7:00 P.M. on Monday, January 9, 2017 in the Central Lyon board room.

DeWit moved to adjourn at 6:23 P.M. and Postma seconded, carried 5-0.