CENTRAL LYON BOARD MINUTES December 14, 2015

The Central Lyon Board of Directors met in regular session in the Board Room of the Central Lyon Community School at 7:45 P.M. with the following members present: President David Jans, Vice-President Scott Postma, Directors Andy Koob, Joel DeWit and Keri Davis and Superintendent Dave Ackerman and Board Secretary Jackie Wells. Other individuals present were EL Principal Steve Harman, MS Principal/Activities Director Jason Engleman, Dave Foltz, Ken Winter, Jim Hoye, Rochelle Ebel, Stephanie Baker, Greg Towne, Amy Sieperda, Jessica Jensen, Jennifer Pedersen, Terry VanBerkum and Jerry Pytleski.

The meeting was called to order at 7:45 P.M.

Postma moved to approve the agenda with additional bills presented and Koob seconded, carried 4-0.

Koob moved to approve the minutes from the November 16, 2015 regular meeting; Davis seconded, carried 4-0.

Director DeWit arrived at 7:47 P.M.

Postma moved to approve the financial report through 11/30/15; Davis seconded, carried 5-0.

Koob moved to approve the summary list of bills; DeWit seconded, carried 5-0.

In recognition, Mattie Knobloch was recognized for 1st team All-State and Hope Rasmussen was recognized for 2nd team All-State in volleyball. The following students were recognized for their achievements in football, cheerleading and cross country:

Football All-District: Pete Menage, Mitch Van Beek, Riley Van Wyhe, Cade Knobloch, Sam McCarty, Brady Metzger, CJ Roths (Special Teams MVP), Nash Knobloch (MVP Lineman). Football IA Newspaper Association: First Team- CJ Roths (Running Back), Second Team -Nash Knobloch (Defensive Lineman). Football & Cheerleading Academic All-District: Cade Knobloch, Nash Knobloch, Ross Krull, Pete Menage, Brady Metzger, Jesse Schrick, manager Kristina Vogt, and cheerleaders Makayla DeJong, Hannah Klocko, Dayna Korthals, Hannah Sieperda, Alison Wright. Cheerleading: Honor Squad – Makayla DeJong, Paige Menage, Hannah Sieperda and All-State Cheerleading Squad – Hannah Sieperda. Cross Country: All-Conference: Gable Sieperda. All-District: Gable Sieperda. State Qualifiers: Gable Sieperda (6th @ state). Jada Kruger was recognized for selection and performance with the Opus Honor Choir. The Middle School Mock Trial team was recognized for their state qualification and performance in November. Sami Ebel was named All State Witness, Jay Waagmeester, Jarrett Meyer and Sami Evel were named Honorable Mention -All State Attorney and Joe Tilstra was named Honorable Mention - All State Witness. Special thanks to Terry VanBerkum, Melinda Folkens, Jen Wippert and Shayne Mayer for their contributions to the program. Subway was thanked for a donation to the Middle School STEM program. Rock Rapids Utilities was thanked for its donation to the Middle School STEM program.

In reports, Ken Winter, Jim Hoye and Dave Foltz presented a check to the district for \$42,779 for energy rebates with improvements made with the Central Lyon Additions project.

Terry Van Berkum presented information regarding the TAG program curriculum for grades K-8, middle school and high school mock trial, high school AP courses and test results.

Jerry Pytleski presented information regarding Teacher Leadership positions and STEM implementation school-wide. Mr. Pytleski reviewed classroom activities, grant applications and future STEM plans.

President Jans and Vice President Postma gave a brief recap of their attendance at the Iowa Association of School Boards Convention.

Superintendent Ackerman reported the Lyon County Riverboat Foundation will present a check at halftime of the basketball game on December 15th. The recent new construction open houses were a success with around 100 visitors attending each night. The At-Risk & Dropout Prevention application due date has been changed to February 2016. Board consideration will be in either January or February, depending on when the new Department of Education application is open online. A state wide report card is now available on all school districts in Iowa. There will be a policy review committee meeting on Wednesday, December 16 at 7:30 A.M.

In New Business, Postma moved to approve a resolution of support for Lyon County Riverboat Foundation application for Kiwanis & Central Lyon retractable basketball baskets & scoreboards for the Central Lyon Activities Center in the amount of \$52,570 and baseball pitching mat line & mats & batting cages utilized for softball, baseball and golf in the amount of \$16,681. DeWit seconded, carried 5-0.

In personnel, DeWit moved to approve the early retirement request from Dwayne Postma effective at the end of the 2015-2016 school year and Postma seconded, carried 5-0. DeWit moved to approve the hiring of Dan Kruse and Dan Snyder, Substitute & Activity Bus Drivers and Rosario Mendez, part-time paraprofessional. Davis seconded, carried 5-0.

The next regular board meeting will be at 7:00 P.M. on Monday, January 11, 2016 in the Central Lyon board room.

Davis moved to adjourn at 9:40 P.M. and Postma seconded, carried 5-0.