CENTRAL LYON BOARD MINUTES June 09, 2014

The Central Lyon Board of Directors met in regular session in the Board Room of the Central Lyon Community School at 7:00PM with the following members present: President Steve Sieperda, Vice-President Judy Gacke, Directors Chet DeJong, and Scott Postma, Superintendent David Ackerman and Board Secretary Jackie Wells. Other individuals present were EL/MS Principal Dan Kruse, Steve Breske, Steve Jastram and Jessica Jensen. Director Dave Jans was absent.

The meeting was called to order at 7:00 P.M. Gacke moved to approve the agenda with an additional hiring and additional bills to approve; DeJong seconded, carried 4-0.

Gacke moved to approve the minutes from the May 12, 2014 regular board meeting; Postma seconded, carried 4-0.

DeJong moved to approve the financial report through May 31, 2014; Postma seconded, carried 4-0.

Gacke moved to approve the summary list of bills, additional bills included; Postma seconded, carried 4-0.

In Reports, Steve Jastram of Architecture Incorporated (AI) presented finalized drawings of office expansions/relocation, security entrances, HVAC improvements, drainage corrections and an athletic training facility. The board agreed to proceed with completed drawings by August, bids in September and starting construction in October.

EL/MS Principal Dan Kruse presented student retention guidelines and grading intervention in accordance with policy 505.2 for board member review. Mr. Kruse also reported on STEM grants and Iowa Core.

Assistant Principal/Activities Director Steve Harman presented an Activity Fund report and discussed balances and budgets for specific line items. Mr. Harman also presented an athletic practice/competition driving permission form that will be utilized for any student athlete driving out of district for activities. This is most common for shared activities between Central Lyon and George-Little Rock.

Superintendent/HS Principal Ackerman reviewed Matt Gillaspie's financial presentation with the board and grants available for the potential building project and security upgrades.

In New Business, DeJong moved to appoint Randy Waagmesster as legal counsel; Gacke seconded, carried 4-0.

DeJong moved to appoint board secretary/treasurer Jackie Wells; Postma seconded, carried 4-0.

Postma moved to appoint district investigators; DeJong seconded, carried 4-0. Gacke moved to appoint affirmative action/equity coordinator; DeJong seconded, carried 4-0.

Gacke moved to approve partnership agreements with NCC for Class Size Project and Individual Student Enrollments and for Alternative High School; DeJong seconded, carried 4-0.

Postma moved to approve the Health Services Agreement for 2014-2015 and Gacke seconded, carried 4-0.

Sieperda introduced the resolution of support for a Lyon County Riverboat Foundation grant, DeJong seconded and in a roll call vote, 4 aye, 0 nay.

DeJong moved to approve the 2014-2015 staff and student handbooks and Gacke seconded, carried 4-0.

Gacke moved to approve the Mid-Sioux Opportunity, Inc. Transportation Agreement; DeJong seconded, carried 4-0.

Gacke moved to approve the breakfast and lunch prices for 2014-2015; DeJong seconded, carried 4-0.

Postma moved to approve the Drivers Education fee, the substitute teacher pay/day, textbook fees and activity ticket prices for 2014-2015; Gacke seconded, carried 4-0. DeJong moved to approve the bids of Popkes Car Care, Inc for gasoline and diesel and Town & Country for disposal for 2014-2015; Gacke seconded, carried 4-0.

In Personnel, Gacke moved to approve the resignations of Jason Engleman, MS Girls' Basketball, pending suitable replacement; Postma seconded, carried 4-0. Postma moved to approve the resignation of Ken Kuehl and Dave Fields, bus route drivers and DeJong seconded, carried 4-0.

Gacke moved to approve the hiring of Greg Town, Assistant Track coach; Janelle Flatebo, Elementary Music (pending certification); Amber Timmer, Preschool Paraprofessional; Josie Moser, Preschool Paraprofessional; Kristin VandeKop, Special Education Paraprofessional; Randi Grevengoed, Special Education Paraprofessional; Consuelo Benavides, Housekeeping; Dick Sprock and LaMont Freese, seasonal buildings & grounds. DeJong seconded, carried 4-0.

DeJong moved to approve the following volunteer coaches and advisors: Cindy Witt, Kristi Wright and Paulette DeWeerd, Dance Team Advisors; Todd Dieren, Tom Menage and Geoff Kruse, Football Coaches; Sharon Postma, FFA Assistant; Matt Boer, Athletic Trainer. Postma seconded, carried 4-0.

The next regular scheduled board meeting will be at 7:00PM in the Central Lyon Board Room on Monday, July 14, 2014.

Gacke moved to adjourn at 9:02 P.M.; Postma seconded, carried 4-0.