CENTRAL LYON BOARD MINUTES June 19, 2017

The Central Lyon Board of Directors met in regular session in the Board Room of the Central Lyon Community School at 7:00 P.M. with the following members present: President David Jans, Vice-President Scott Postma, Directors Keri Davis and Andy Koob, Superintendent David Ackerman and Board Secretary Jackie Wells. Other individuals present were MS Principal/Activities Director Jason Engleman, Stephanie Baker and Lisa Dieren. Director Joel DeWit was absent.

Koob moved to approve the agenda with an additional list of bills; Postma seconded, carried 4-0.

Davis moved to approve the minutes from the May 8, 2017 board meeting; Postma seconded, carried 4-0.

Postma moved to approve the financial report through May 31, 2017; Koob seconded, carried 4-0.

Koob moved to approve the summary list of bills; Davis seconded, carried 4-0.

In recognition, Brandt Boekhout was recognized for breaking the school golf record for low conference season average at 38.22. All-Conference Golf Award Winners were Emily Vande Kop (1st Team), Sydney Ebel (2nd Team) & Brandt Boekhout (1st Team). The boys track team was recognized for its state qualification. Gable Sieperda was recognized for being named the Sioux City Journal's Male Track Athlete of the Year. Dan Snyder was selected as "At Large Coach of the Year" by the Iowa Association of Track Coaches. The Eagles Club of Sheldon was thanked for the \$1000 grant to purchase Special Education supplies. Math bee students were recognized for their efforts in May including 3 students who placed individually; Trevor Dieren, Avery Harman and Liza Jans.

In Reports, Director Postma reported that the Central Lyon Foundation's Heritage Days All School Reunion was success. Activities Director Engleman reported that the Ball Field Advisory committee met and agreed to a few new improvements at the complex including finishing the batting cage addition, new lamps/lighting throughout and adding cement to the existing batting cage. Superintendent Ackerman provided updates on the track & football field lighting project, the 12th Street student safety project, storm and fire drills and the tiny house sale. A new phone system has been installed and requires the community to call 712-472-2664 for all inquiries; the 4041 and 4051 numbers will no longer be in use.

In New Business, Postma moved to appoint Randy Waagmesster as district legal counsel; appoint Jackie Wells, Board Secretary/Treasurer; appoint district investigators including Jessica Harman, Emily Koerselman, Kristi Wright, Cindy Witt and the Lyon County

Sherriff Department; and David Ackerman as Affirmative Action/Equity Coordinator; Davis seconded, carried 4-0.

Postma moved to approve the district property and casualty insurance with EMC at 2017-2018 and Koob seconded, carried 4-0.

Davis moved to approve the digital video board purchase through Daktronics and Koob seconded, carried 4-0.

Koob moved to approve the breakfast and lunch prices for 2017-2018; Postma seconded, carried 4-0.

Postma moved to approve the Drivers Education fee, the substitute teacher pay/day, textbook fees and activity ticket prices for 2017-2018; Davis seconded, carried 4-0. Postma moved to approve student, faculty, athletics, paraprofessional and preschool handbooks for 2017-2018 and Davis seconded, carried 4-0.

Davis moved to approve the increase of Jill Christensen from 6.25 FTE to .75 FTE and Koob seconded, carried 4-0.

Koob moved to approve the bids of Popkes Car Care, Inc for gasoline and diesel and Denny's Sanitation for disposal for 2017-2018; Postma seconded, carried 4-0.

In Personnel, Postma moved to approve the resignation of Carrie Borman, Paraprofessional and Janelle Flatebo, Elementary Vocal Music and Davis seconded, carried 4-0.

Davis moved to approve the hiring of Megan Whitsell, ESY teacher, Pat Verrips, Long Term Substitute for 3rd grade and Laurie Herman, Co-Prom Advisor; Koob seconded, carried 4-0. Koob moved to approve the hiring of Chris Wright, Jill Kroon and Ben Docker as Year 1 TLC mentors and Postma seconded, carried 4-0.

Postma moved to approve Tom Menage, Dwayne Postma and Grant Engel as volunteer football coaches, Paul Konechne, volunteer wrestling coach, Matt Boer, volunteer athletic trainer, Dr. Ross Reynolds, Dr. Cody Hoefert, Dr. Nick Weber, Dr. Chet DeJong and Dr. David Springer, volunteer medical assistants. Davis seconded, carried 4-0.

Postma moved to approve to enter into closed session under Iowa Code 21.5 (i), Superintendent Evaluation at 9:00 P.M. and Davis seconded, carried 4-0. Koob moved to return to open session at 10:40 P.M. and Postma seconded, carried 4-0.

The next regular scheduled board meeting will be at 7:00PM in the Central Lyon Board Room, 1010 S Greene Street on Monday, July 17, 2017.

Postma moved to adjourn at 10:41 P.M.; Davis seconded, carried 4-0.