## CENTRAL LYON BOARD MINUTES March 25, 2014

The Central Lyon Board of Directors met for a work session in the Board Room of the Central Lyon Community School at 5:30 P.M. with the following members present: President Steve Sieperda, Vice President Judy Gacke, Directors Scott Postma, David Jans, and Chet DeJong and Superintendent Dave Ackerman. Other individuals present were Assistant Principal Steve Harman and EL/MS Principal Dan Kruse.

Discussion took place on building projects including security entrances, architect drawings, activity center expansion and a timeline for decision with the city and Sanford.

Casino funds were discussed including annual donations to prom and after grade vents, unfunded items in the activity fund, technology purchases including 1:1, elementary carts, early literacy requirements, school supplies, and future building projects.

Personnel and 2014-2015 needs were discussed included a 9-12 alternative school teacher, MS/HS English teacher, MS Math teacher, HS counselor increases, ½ time MS teacher and ½ time technology integrationist and elementary at-risk personnel.

The Central Lyon Board of Directors met in special session in the Board Room of the Central Lyon Community School at 7:59 P.M. with the following members present: President Steve Sieperda, Vice President Judy Gacke, Directors Scott Postma, David Jans, and Chet DeJong and Superintendent Dave Ackerman. Other individuals present were Assistant Principal Steve Harman and EL/MS Principal Dan Kruse.

The meeting was called to order at 7:59 P.M.

Gacke moved to approve new positions as follows: 9-12 alternative teacher, 2 middle school teacher, .5FTE MS teacher/.5FTE technology integrationist, increase HS counselor from .8FTE to 1FTE. Interviewing and planning will begin immediately with recommendations for hire coming to the board at a later date. DeJong seconded, carried 5-0.

Gacke moved to enter into closed session at 8:05 P.M. under Iowa Code 21.5 1 (i), Superintendent Evaluation. DeJong seconded and in a roll call vote, 5 aye, 0 nay. Gacke moved to leave closed session at 9:45 P.M.; DeJong seconded, carried 5-0.

DeJong moved to adjourn at 9:47 P.M. and Jans seconded, carried 5-0.