## CENTRAL LYON BOARD MINUTES MAY 15, 2013

The Central Lyon Board of Directors met in regular session in the Board Room of the Central Lyon Community School at 5:00PM with the following members present: President Steve Sieperda, Vice-President Judy Gacke, Directors Chet DeJong, Gail Van Berkum and David Jans, Superintendent David Ackerman and Board Secretary Jackie Wells. Other individuals present were EL/MS Principal Dan Kruse, Kristi Wright, Dale Jansma, Kelli Docker, Emily Deutsch, Curtis Eben, Ashley Teunissen, MacKenzie Lutmer, Emily DeJong, and Stephanie Baker.

The meeting was called to order at 5:00 P.M. Gacke moved to approve the agenda additional agenda item H and with additional bills presented; Jans seconded, carried 5-0.

DeJong moved to approve the minutes from the April 8, 2013 regular board meeting; Jans seconded, carried 5-0.

Van Berkum moved to approve the financial report through April 30, 2013; Gacke seconded, carried 5-0.

Jans moved to approve the summary list of bills, additional bills included; DeJong seconded, carried 5-0.

In recognition, 5<sup>th</sup> grade students were recognized for their participation in honor choir in LeMars, IA. Lexi Ackerman, Kelsey Ackerman, Kori Schulte and Sara Halse were recognized for their outstanding basketball season and achievements and multiple individual honors.

In Reports, Technology Director Curtis Eben presented 1:1 initiative student survey results. Mr. Eben presented a 1:1 initiative budget and other technology needs for the 2013-2014 school year.

EL/MS Principal Dan Kruse reported on preschool, Transitional Kindergarten, and Kindergarten enrollment projections for the 2013-2014 school year with a request to hire a 2<sup>nd</sup> part time Transitional Kindergarten teacher. Mr. Kruse proposed utilizing casino funds for the purchase of heavy duty art boxes for grades K – 5. He informed the board that the After School Program averaged high 20s in enrollment each day and helped many students throughout the year. There will be no Summer Reading program offered again this summer due to lack of available staff.

Superintendent/HS Principal Ackerman stated that graduation will be at 3:00 P.M. on Sunday, May 19<sup>th</sup> with 53 students. Mr. Ackerman recognized the custodial staff's efforts in clean-up after the April ice and snow storms. The Beef Bowl is scheduled to be broadcast on Thursday, August 29. Commercial spots will be available to local

businesses and sponsors with a portion of the dollars coming back to the district. District Goal Setting and Superintendent Evaluation will be held on June 13, 2013 at 5:30 P.M in a closed session allowed for under Iowa law

In Old Business, the board discussed possible uses of casino funds in the future.

In New Business, Van Berkum moved to approve the IA Association for Education (IAEP) Purchasing Agreement. Gacke seconded, carried 5-0. Jans moved to approve the 2013-2014 Health Services Agreement and Van Berkum seconded, carried 5-0. DeJong moved to approve the 2 year bargaining agreement with CLEA with a 3.9% increase for 2013-2014 and a 4.4% increase for 2014-2015. Gacke seconded, carried 5-0. Gacke moved to approve the annual service contract for technology/network assistance with Premier Communications and Van Berkum seconded, carried 5-0. Van Berkum moved to approve the FFA Senior Trip and Jans seconded, carried 5-0. Gacke moved to approve the increase to Sheila Maxwell's contract from .25FTE to .625FTE and DeJong seconded, carried 5-0. Gacke moved to approve the annual transportation agreement with Mid-Sioux Opportunity/Head Start; DeJong seconded, carried 5-0.

In Personnel, Van Berkum moved to approve the resignation of Ben Gerleman, Activities Director; Jans seconded, carried 5-0.

DeJong moved to approve the hiring of Steve Harman, Assistant Principal/Activities Director and Jans seconded. DeJong moved to approve the hiring of Melissa Skidmore, Patty Perrett, Jaren Schrick, Ross Ackerman and Kylie Eckenrod as Part Time Summer Custodial Assistants and Gacke seconded. DeJong moved to approve Jaci VanVeldhuizen, Cindy Witt, Kelli Docker, Denise Kirchhoff and Melissa Lockey as Extended School Year (ESY) Teachers and Van Berkum seconded. DeJong moved to approve Brenda VandeWeerde, Jamie Helmers, Kandi Koll as ESY Paraprofessionals and Cindi Iwen as ESY Nurse. Gacke seconded. All personnel hiring motions carried 5-0.

There will be a closed session for the Superintendent's Evaluation at 5:30PM on Thursday, June 13, 2013. The next regular scheduled board meeting will be at 7:00PM on Thursday, June 13, 2013.

Van Berkum moved to adjourn at 6:26 P.M.; Jans seconded, carried 5-0.