CENTRAL LYON BOARD MINUTES MAY 12, 2014

The Central Lyon Board of Directors met for a work session in the Board Room of the Central Lyon Community School at 6:00PM with the following members present: Vice-President Judy Gacke, Directors Scott Postma and David Jans, Superintendent David Ackerman and Board Secretary Jackie Wells. Other individuals present were EL/MS Principal Dan Kruse, Assistant Principal/Activities Director Steve Harman, Stephanie Baker, Steve Jastram and Matthew Gillaspie. President Steve Sieperda and Director Chet DeJong were absent.

Matthew Gillaspie, Senior VP at Piper Jaffray & Co, presented infrastructure financing options to the board. No action was taken.

The Central Lyon Board of Directors met in regular session in the Board Room of the Central Lyon Community School at 7:00PM with the following members present: Vice-President Judy Gacke, Directors Scott Postma and David Jans, Superintendent David Ackerman and Board Secretary Jackie Wells. Other individuals present were EL/MS Principal Dan Kruse, Assistant Principal/Activities Director Steve Harman, Stephanie Baker, Steve Jastram, Kristi Wright, Jerome Metzger, Jessica Jensen, Steve Breske, Jason Engleman, Angel Rasmussen, Ross Krull, Becca Bickerstaff, Chastity Henrichs, Hannah Klocko, Brady Metzger, Taylor Simon, Daisy Colchado, and Kristina Robison. President Steve Sieperda and Director Chet DeJong were absent.

The meeting was called to order at 7:00 P.M. Jans moved to approve the agenda with additional bills presented; Postma seconded, carried 3-0.

Postma moved to approve the minutes from the April 9, 2014 regular board meeting and the April 23, 2014 special meeting; Jans seconded, carried 3-0.

Jans moved to approve the financial report through April 30, 2014; Postma seconded, carried 3-0.

Postma moved to approve the summary list of bills, additional bills included; Jans seconded, carried 3-0.

In recognition, the month of May is designated as School Board Recognition Month. Administration expressed their appreciation for each of the board members and their role in increasing student achievement within the Central Lyon Community School District. Larry Goebel was thanked for his support of MS Fine Arts and a \$200 donation to the MS Band program. The Council of Churches and Lifelight were thanked for a \$502.63 donation to the Back Pack Program. Unted Methodist Church was thanked for a \$287.00 donation to the Back Pack Program. Lyon County Sherriff Stewart Vander Stoep was thanked for the DARE Program. Kiersten Arends and Skylar Rutledge were featured in NWAEA's Harvest, a collection of writings.

In Reports, EL/MS Principal Dan Kruse reported on the After School Program; averaged 25-35 students daily from October 8, 2013 to April 16, 2014. The middle school schedule is complete and there will be an ICC meeting with NWAEA and staff on May 27, 2014.

Superintendent/HS Principal Ackerman reported that May Term is busy and going well. AP testing is also underway. Mr. Ackerman asked board members to mark their calendars for the district site visit, scheduled for November 16 - 18, 2014. Mr. Ackerman and Steve Jastram of AI reviewed the updated architect drawings with the board and discussed potential grant opportunities. Mr. Ackerman informed the board that the SIAC committee met as part of an annual process.

Director Scott Postma reported that 5 of 18 scholarships were awarded to students by the Central Lyon Foundation and wanted staff and students to know that all the apps received were very impressive and if funding allowed, every student would have been awarded dollars.

Buildings and Ground Supervisor Steve Breske presented a bus fleet listing with years, size and mileage to the board and informed them that he would be making a recommendation to purchase 1-2 new busses in the June meeting.

In New Business, Jans moved to approve a topographical survey by DGR Engineering and Postma seconded, carried 3-0. Postma moved to approve the annual service contract for technology/network assistance with Premier Communications and Jans seconded, carried 3-0. Jans moved to approve increasing Rochelle Bloemendaal's teaching contract from .625FTE to .69FTE for the 2014-2015 school year and Postma seconded, carried 3-0. Postma moved to approve the FFA Senior Trip and Jans seconded, carried 3-0. Jans moved to approve Classified Staff Benefits for 2014-2015; Postma seconded, carried 3-0. Postma moved to table administrator/supervisor benefits for 2014-2015; Jans seconded, carried 3-0. Jans moved to approve sharing .5FTE Elementary Guidance Counselor with Rock Valley utilizing operational sharing funds through the state of Iowa, with an annual review of the position and Postma seconded, carried 3-0. Postma moved to approve the carpet bid for the middle school wing and stairwell between the MS and HS wing with Rapid Flooring for \$11,979.26 in carpet & materials and \$4,034.50 for removal & installation; Jans seconded, carried 3-0.

In Personnel, Jans moved to approve the resignation of Angie Johnson, Elementary Vocal Music; Dwayne Postma, Assistant Track Coach, pending suitable replacement; Lezlee Benz, Paraprofessional; Jenna Jepsen, Paraprofessional; Todd Kelderman, Assistant Transportation Director; Consuelo Benavides, Housekeeping. Postma seconded, carried 3-0.

Postma moved to approve the hiring of Megan Whitsell, .6FTE TK teacher; Heather Grafing, Assistant Girls' Basketball Coach; Sandra Allen, Large Group Speech and Individual Speech Co-Advisor; Kelli Docker, Kristi Wright, Denise Kirchhoff and Melissa Lockey as Extended School Year (ESY) Teachers; Brenda VandeWeerde, Jamie Helmers, Taylor Bork, Kilee Uittenbogaard as ESY Paraprofessionals; Jodi Schrick, Michelle VanWyhe, Ashley Rypkema and Linda Wessels, Summer Reading Program; Kalen Eckenrod, Ross Ackerman and Jaren Schrick, Summer Seasonal help. Jans seconded, carried 3-0.

The next regular scheduled board meeting will be at 7:00PM on Monday, June 9, 2014.

Postma moved to adjourn at 8:17 P.M.; Jans seconded, carried 3-0.