CENTRAL LYON BOARD MINUTES MAY 9, 2016

The Central Lyon Board of Directors met in regular session in the Board Room of the Central Lyon Community School at 7:30PM with the following members present: President David Jans, Vice-President Scott Postma, Directors Keri Davis, Joel DeWit and Andy Koob, Superintendent David Ackerman and Board Secretary Jackie Wells. Other individuals present were EL Principal Steve Harman, MS Principal/Activities Director Jason Engleman, Stephanie Baker, Jessica Jensen, Sara Groen, Tana Meyer, Matt Deutsch, Natalie Larson, Curtis Eben, Geoff Kruse, Mitch Peschon, Krista Sprock, Michelle VanWyhe, and Emily Deutsch.

The meeting was called to order at 7:30 P.M. Davis moved to approve the agenda with additional bills presented; Koob seconded, carried 4-0.

Postma moved to approve the minutes from the April 11, 2016 regular board meeting; Davis seconded, carried 4-0.

Director DeWit arrived at 7:33P.M.

Koob moved to approve the financial report through April 30, 2016; Postma seconded, carried 5-0.

DeWit moved to approve the summary list of bills, additional bills included; Davis seconded, carried 5-0.

In recognition, the month of May is designated as School Board Recognition Month. Administration expressed their appreciation for each of the board members and their role in increasing student achievement within the Central Lyon Community School District. Jay Waagmeester was recognized for his 8th grade biography on his father and Huntington's disease. Jay has been asked to share his biography with congress in Washington DC in June. Fourth and fifth grade math bee students were recognized for their achievements. Dan Kruse and ElDon Maxwell were recognized for 25 years of service as athletic officials with the Iowa High School Athletic Association. Ken Barker was thanked for his donation to the math department.

In Reports, Technology Coordinator Curtis Eben and Technology Integrationist Geoff Kruse presented a preliminary 2016/2017 technology budget and 1:1 initiative review.

Principal Steve Harman stated that a K-8 math networking meeting for Iowa Core on April 28th went well. Mr. Harman presented preliminary enrollment numbers for the 2016-2017 school year.

Principal/Activities Director Jason Engleman presented new flooring options for the Elementary Multipurpose room. The new flooring would be seamless with a 5 year warranty. Board members asked for additional information on schools that utilize this flooring for gymnasiums that are also used as lunchrooms. Mr. Engleman presented a proposed 2016-2017 5-8 middle school schedule.

Board President Jans inquired about Weekly Reader and its relation to curriculum in classrooms as well as funding for this supplemental option.

Michelle VanWyhe and Krista Sprock presented FAST scores and benchmarks for grades TK/K - 4, progress monitoring, and compliance standards.

Superintendent/HS Principal Ackerman reported that negotiations are almost complete and that a special board meeting might be necessary in order to issue contracts and work agreements in a timely manner.

In New Business, Postma moved to approve the annual service contract for technology/network assistance with Premier Communications and Davis seconded, carried 5-0. Koob moved to approve Wellmark BCBS via Seth Major of Arthur J Gallagher & Co for district health insurance for 2016-2017 and DeWit seconded, carried 5-0. Postma moved to approve the health services agreement for 2016-2017 and Davis seconded, carried 5-0. DeWit moved to approve the interfund transfer from Debt Service to PPEL per Iowa Code 298A.9 and Koob seconded and in a roll call vote, 5 aye, 0 nay. DeWit moved to approve the FFA senior trip to Montana and Postma seconded, carried 5-0.

In Personnel, Koob moved to approve the resignations of Jessica Keller, Paraprofessional and Cindy Witt, TLC Mentor. DeWit seconded, carried 5-0.

Davis moved to approve the hiring of Jaci VanVeldhuizen, Chris Wright, Kelli Docker, Ann Langholdt, Michelle VanWyhe and Krista Sprock as TLC Mentors for 2016-2017. DeWit seconded, carried 5-0.

Postma moved to approve the hiring of Jodi Schrick, Tana Meyer, Melissa Lockey and Denise Kirchhoff, Summer Reading Program. DeWit seconded, carried 5-0. Postma moved to approve the hiring of Denise Kirchhoff and Melissa Lockey, Preschool Extended School Year (ESY) Teachers and DeWit seconded, carried 4-1.

The next regular scheduled board meeting will be at 7:00PM on Monday, June 13, 2016 in the Central Lyon Board Room. The regular meeting will include a financial presentation from Larry Sigel.

DeWit moved to adjourn at 9:48 P.M.; Koob seconded, carried 5-0.

The board participated in a brief work session regarding district goals and district capital outlay projects following the regular session.