CENTRAL LYON BOARD MINUTES MAY 8, 2017

The Central Lyon Board of Directors met in regular session in the Board Room of the Central Lyon Community School at 7:00PM with the following members present: President David Jans, Vice-President Scott Postma, Directors Keri Davis, Joel DeWit and Andy Koob, Superintendent David Ackerman and Board Secretary Jackie Wells. Other individuals present were EL Principal Steve Harman, MS Principal/Activities Director Jason Engleman, Stephanie Baker, Jessica Jensen, Sara Groen, Matt Deutsch, Natalie Larson, Krista Sprock, Bergin DeBruin, Hailey Borman, Shyanne Erickson.

The meeting was called to order at 7:02 P.M. Postma moved to approve the agenda with additional bills presented and an additional item for consideration; Koob seconded, carried 4-0.

Koob moved to approve the minutes from the April 10, 2017 regular board meeting and an April 21, 2017 special meeting; DeWit seconded, carried 4-0.

Director Davis arrived at 7:04P.M.

DeWit moved to approve the financial report through April 30, 2017; Postma seconded, carried 5-0.

Davis moved to approve the summary list of bills, additional bills included; DeWit seconded, carried 5-0.

In recognition, the month of May is designated as School Board Recognition Month. Administration expressed their appreciation for each of the board members and their role in increasing student achievement within the Central Lyon Community School District. Larry Goebel was thanked for his donation of \$1200 to the MS Band Program and continued support. Steve Campbell was thanked for a donation of compost to the district garden. The United Methodist Church and Immanuel Lutheran Church were thanked for their donations to the Backpack Program. Destinee Garber and Shelbie Sions were recognized for their state awards at the Northwest Iowa Reading Council. Gable Sieperda was recognized for his 3rd and 4th place finishes in the mile and 2 mile at Drake Relays. Several track athletes represented the district at Howard Wood Relays. Women's Action Club was recognized for a \$700 donation to the district for elementary and middle school field trips. The board acknowledged Iona Van Dyke's 40+ years of service to the district in the kitchen and as a volunteer grandmother. Iona passed away on May 2nd.

In Reports, Krista Sprock, TLC K-5 Literacy Coach presented the FAST scores and benchmarks for grades TK/K – 4, progress monitoring, and compliance standards and year end summaries. FAST testing is required through the Department of Education.

Principal Steve Harman stated that math focus professional development for Iowa Core Curriculum will take place in June for applicable staff utilizing teacher quality funds. Mr. Harman presented preliminary enrollment numbers for the 2017-2018 school year.

Principal/Activities Director Jason Engleman presented information on the interactive digital video board meeting with the community and Daktronics representatives to purchase the board through advertising and fundraising. Mr. Engleman presented a proposed 2017-2018 middle school schedule.

Vice President Scott Postma presented a \$100,000 check from the Frank Boon Trust. The district applied for funds through a governmental entity application. The funds will be used to fund 1:1 updates and other technology upgrades and purchases for 2017-2018.

Superintendent/High School Principal Ackerman reported that high school graduation will take place on May 21st at 3pm. The Tiny House is very close to completion. The instructor and students will enter it in the Heritage Days parade and open house in Island Park and then auction it off on June 24th. Mr. Ackerman reported that a request for proposal for interest bearing accounts for the district's PERL, PPEL and SILO funds.

In New Business, Postma moved to approve the annual service contract for technology/network assistance and telephone & long distance with Premier Communications and DeWit seconded, carried 5-0. Koob moved to approve the health services agreement for 2017-2018 and Davis seconded, carried 5-0. Davis moved to approve the FFA senior trip to Crosslake, MN and Postma seconded, carried 5-0. Koob moved to approve new policy 710.4, Meal Charges, with a change to the negative balance to \$20.00, clarification of "free" meals to both free and reduced qualifications. The 2nd reading was waived and DeWit seconded, carried 5-0. Postma moved to approve a bid from Wayne Meyer Electric, Inc for electric service to the elementary and DeWit seconded, carried 5-0.

Postma moved to approve a resolution authorizing submission from a governmental body for the Frank Boon Trust for 3 requests: Interactive Digital Video Board, FFA Farm Improvement and 2017-2018 Tiny House startup funds. Davis seconded and in a roll call vote, 5 aye, 0 nay.

Davis moved to approve a calendar change, forgiving a half day of classes for students on May 30, 2017 and Koob seconded, and carried 5-0.

In Personnel, DeWit moved to approve the resignations of Kayla Vanden Hoek and Kandace Koll, Paraprofessionals. Postma seconded, carried 5-0.

Koob moved to approve the hiring of Tabitha Snyder, HS English Language Arts teacher & Yearbook Advisor and Davis seconded, carried 5-0. Discussion took place on policy 401.3, Nepotism. Postma moved to approve hiring Lexi Ackerman, Assistant Softball Coach and DeWit seconded, carried 5-0. DeWit moved to approve hiring Reid Geerdes, assistant football coach, pending licensure requirements; Jodi Schrick, Tana Meyer,

Melissa Lockey and Sue Boogerd, Cheryl Mans and Amy DeBoer, Summer Reading Program; Laureen Schram, Kelli Docker and Melissa Lockey, Extended School Year (ESY) and Preschool Extended School Year (ESY) Teachers; Cindy Witt and Yadira Solis, ESL/ELL Summer Program and Koob seconded, carried 5-0.

The next regular scheduled board meeting will be at 7:00PM on Monday, June 19, 2017 in the Central Lyon Board Room. DeWit moved to adjourn at 8:48 P.M.; Postma seconded, carried 5-0.