CENTRAL LYON BOARD MINUTES MAY 16, 2022

The Central Lyon Board of Directors met for a public hearing on the 2021-2022 budget amendment in the Central Lyon Board Room at 6:55 P.M. with the following members present: Vice-President David Jans, Directors Scott Postma, Keri Davis and Amy Hartter. Other individuals present were Superintendent Brent Jorth, School Business Official Jackie Wells, PK-6 Principal Steve Harman, 7-12 Principal Jason Engleman, Chris Wright, Sam Kruse, Jarod DeBey, Jessica Jensen and Jay Waagmeester. President Andy Koob was absent.

The hearing was opened at 6:55 P.M. by President Pro-Tem David Jans. No comments were received from the public. The hearing was closed at 7:00 P.M.

The Central Lyon Board of Directors met in regular session in the Board Room of the Central Lyon Community School at 7:00 PM with the following members present: Vice-President David Jans, Directors Scott Postma, Keri Davis and Amy Hartter. Other individuals present were Superintendent Brent Jorth, School Business Official Jackie Wells, PK-6 Principal Steve Harman, 7-12 Principal Jason Engleman, Chris Wright, Sam Kruse, Jarod DeBey, Jessica Jensen and Jay Waagmeester. President Andy Koob was absent.

The meeting was called to order at 7:00 PM by President Pro-Tem David Jans.

Hartter moved to approve the agenda with an additional list of bills and the following corrections to New Business: remove Approval of Shared Contracts 3(b), Director of Human Resources with Rock Valley and West Sioux; remove Personnel 10(a)(5), Resignations, Kyra Waletich, Paraeducator; add Personnel 10(a)(9), Resignations, Megan Whitsell, MS Volleyball Coach; change Personnel 10(c)(6)(b)(v), Hirings, Summer School Staff, Learner Assistants, Melissa Skidmore instead of Patty Perrett; and add Personnel, 10(7)(a), Hirings, Megan Whitsell, Assistant High School Volleyball Coach. Davis seconded, carried 4-0.

Davis moved to approve the minutes from the April 11, 2022, regular board meeting and the work session recap from April 27, 2022, the financial report through April 30, 2022 and the summary list of bills. Hartter seconded, carried 4-0.

In Administrative Reports and Discussion Items, Superintendent Jorth presented a list for student, staff and community recognitions and congratulations. The month of May is designated as School Board Recognition Month. Administration expressed appreciation for each of the board members and their role in increasing student achievement.

Under staff presentation, Sam Kruse and Jarod DeBey reviewed the district computer science plan for 2022-2023 and beyond.

Under Principal reports, Principal Harman provided an enrollment update for grades preschool -6^{th} grade. Principal Engleman reviewed the schedule for graduation week including Baccalaureate, senior awards day, graduation rehearsal, commencement and an after-grad party.

In Superintendent reports, Superintendent Jorth reviewed preliminary ISASP results and noted that individual reports will be sent to parents with report cards at year-end. Mr. Jorth provided an updated Esser III budget to include retention payments and curriculum purchases. The board of education reviewed an FFA land swap option with the Rock Rapids Development Group with more information provided from legal counsel at a later date. Mr. Jorth confirmed a meeting with FEH Design on June 8th with the Buildings & Grounds Committee and requested input from board members on additional IASB work sessions. Mr. Jorth summarized meetings between Avera, the weight room coordinator and district head coaches on improvements to the summer weightlifting and acceleration programs.

In board committees, Director Davis provided an update from the Central Lyon Foundation on scholarships and capital outlay supports.

In New Business, Hartter moved to approve the 2021-2022 budget amendment. Davis seconded, carried 4-0.

Davis moved to approve the administrative salaries and benefit package for 2022-2023 and two (2) \$1,000 retention payments. Postma seconded, carried 4-0.

Hartter moved to approve the 2022-2023 Shared Transportation Director contract with George-Little Rock. Davis seconded, carried 4-0.

Davis moved to approve adding a 4th section of Kindergarten for the 2022-2023 school year. Postma seconded, carried 4-0.

Hartter moved to approve adding FCCLA Sponsor to the Extra Duty Schedule and Postma seconded, carried 4-0.

Postma moved to approve adopting the K-12 computer science plan. Hartter seconded, carried 4-0.

Hartter moved to approve the following curriculum purchases: Really Great Reading, K-8th grade literacy materials in the amount of \$10,641.26; Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, K-5th grade math materials in the amount of \$11,425.11; and Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 8-10th grade history materials in the amount of \$10,934.00. Davis seconded, carried 4-0.

Hartter moved to approve the purchase of a Jess Equipment food service steamer in the amount of \$20,520.35 and Postma seconded, carried 4-0.

Postma moved to approve the purchase of high school gymnasium scorers' tables, wall padding, recognition banners and school song graphics from Varsity Group in the amount of \$23,535. Davis seconded, carried 4-0.

In Personnel, Postma moved to approve the resignations of Rochelle DeBoer, Twila Harms, Bonnie Nail and Laura Schar, Food Service Staff; Ina Faye Hilbrands, Administrative Assistant; Mandi Ver Beek, Assistant Track Coach; Sam Kruse, MS and HS Mock Trial Coach; and Megan Whitsell, MS Volleyball Coach. Hartter seconded, carried 4-0. Davis moved to approve the transfers of Nola Jones, Transitional Kindergarten teacher and Jamie Schar, Elementary/Middle School Special Education teacher. Hartter seconded, carried 4-0.

Postma moved to approve the hiring of Eric Arnold, 5th – 6th grade Technology/Computer Science teacher; Sherwin Langholdt and Sam Kruse, 2022-2023 TLC Mentors; Trevor Reinke, Assistant Baseball Coach (pending licensure); Jill Christensen, FCCLA Sponsor; Megan Whitsell, Assistant Volleyball coach; Emily DeBey, Brookstin Halma, Sam Kruse, Melissa Lockey, Allison Van Aartsen and April Wassenaar, Summer School teachers; and Sue Boogerd, Carrie Borman, Nicole Kruse, Donna Loomans, Melissa Skidmore, Brad Raveling, Diane Reck, Kristin Vande Kop, and Brenda Vanden Top, Summer School Learner Assistants. Hartter seconded, carried 4-0.

The next regular scheduled board meeting will be at 7:00 PM on Monday, June 13, 2022, in the Central Lyon Board Room.

Davis moved to adjourn at 9:12 PM and Postma seconded, carried 4-0.