CENTRAL LYON BOARD MINUTES November 18, 2019

The Central Lyon Board of Directors met in regular session in the Board Room of the Central Lyon Community School at 7:30 P.M. with the following members present: President David Jans, Vice-President Andy Koob, Directors Keri Davis and Joel DeWit, Superintendent Brent Jorth and Board Secretary Jackie Wells. Other individuals present were Elementary Principal Steve Harman, Middle School/High School Principal Jason Engleman, Jessica Jensen, Josh Rockhill, Allison Bixenman, Krista Sprock, Stephanie Baker, Jill Kroon, Kristi Wright, Emily Deutsch, Denise McCarty, Tatum Jensen, Jayma Popkes, Elizabeth Huyser, Kiersten Arends, Dana Kruse, and Trey VandeKop. Director Scott Postma was absent.

The meeting was called to order at 7:30 P.M.

Davis moved to approve the agenda with an additional list of bills under Retiring Board, and Koob seconded, carried 3-0.

Koob moved to approve the consent agenda including minutes of past meetings, the financial report through October 31, 2019 and the summary list of bills; Davis seconded, carried 3-0.

Director DeWit arrived at 7:34 P.M.

In recognition, Superintendent Brent Jorth shared a list of students, staff and community accomplishments, awards and thanks.

In correspondence, Mr. Jorth shared an invite from Northwest AEA to a legislative forum at MOC-Floyd Valley high school on December 2, 2019 at 6:30 P.M.

Board Secretary Jackie Wells reviewed the official report of the voters on the board election.

DeWit moved to conclude the activities of the retiring school board and adjourn at 7:45 P.M.; Davis seconded, carried 4-0.

The meeting of the new board was called to order at 7:45 P.M. with the following members present: Directors David Jans, Andy Koob, Keri Davis, and Joel De Wit, Superintendent Brent Jorth and Board Secretary Jackie Wells. Other individuals present were Elementary Principal Steve Harman, Middle School/High School Principal Jason Engleman, Jessica Jensen, Josh Rockhill, Allison Bixenman, Krista Sprock, Stephanie Baker, Jill Kroon, Kristi Wright, Emily Deutsch, Denise McCarty, Michelle Van Wyhe, Tatum Jensen, Jayma Popkes, Elizabeth Huyser, Kiersten Arends, Dana Kruse, and Trey VandeKop.

The oath of office was administered to newly elected board members, David Jans, Andy Koob and Joel DeWit.

Superintendent Brent Jorth asked for nominations for President and Vice President. DeWit nominated Jans for President. Davis nominated Koob for Vice President. Nominations ceased with the aforementioned officer positions and carried, 4-0. The oath of office was administered to David Jans as President and Andy Koob as Vice President.

The following appointments and committees were made: In Personnel, Koob and Postma; Buildings & Grounds/Transportation, DeWit and Davis; Policy, Koob and De Wit; Budget, Jans and Davis; Sharing, Postma and DeWit. David Jans will serve as the Delegate to represent Central Lyon the upcoming Delegate Assembly. Joel DeWit will serve on the Lyon County Assessors' Board. Andy Koob will serve as the board representative for the Central Lyon Foundation. Davis and Jans will serve on the School Improvement Advisory Committee (SIAC).

DeWit moved to approve regular scheduled board meetings to take place the second Monday of each month at 7:00 P.M. in the Central Lyon Board Room unless otherwise noted. Davis seconded, carried 4-0.

In reports, Principal Harman reported that Parent Teacher Conferences were a success with an average of 96% participation by parents in grades PK-4. Principal Engleman reported that Parent Teacher Conferences had a 97% attendance in the middle school and 60% in high school. A Veteran's Day Ceremony took place in conjunction with the local auxiliary on November 11, 2019.

Josh Rockhill and Central Lyon FFA officers and members gave an FFA National Convention recap of their trip to Indianapolis.

School Business Official Jackie Wells reported the SBRC application for modified supplemental growth will be delayed until December per the state's request.

Superintendent Jorth reviewed the Iowa Statewide Assessment of Student Progress (ISASP) and Principal Harman reviewed 19/20 FAST reading scores. Mr. Jorth discussed the 2020/2021 school year calendar and reported a survey will be sent out to all stakeholders for feedback. Following the administration of the survey, a calendar committee will meet to utilize the survey data to create the calendar.

In New Business, Davis moved to approve the Northwest AEA board of directors, district 1 ballot in the name of Amy Jurrens and DeWit seconded, carried 4-0.

Director Postma arrived at 8:31 P.M.

Koob moved to approve the 1st reading of revisions of school policies 500-501.16, 200.1R1, 202.4, 203, 206.2, 210.5, 210.6, 211, 404.R1, 502.7, 905.1R1, 905.2, with 2nd reading waived. DeWit seconded, carried 5-0.

In personnel, Davis moved to approve the hiring of Kaysha Blomgren, Paraprofessional; Marleen Van Maanen, Long-Term Substitute starting in February; Brookstin Halma, Dale Jansma, Sheila Maxwell, Allison Van Aartsen, After School Program Teachers; and Cheryl Mans, After School Program Paraprofessional. DeWit seconded, carried 5-0. Koob moved to approve the resignation and early retirement request of Laureen Schram, 4th grade teacher, effective June 30, 2020 and Davis seconded, carried 5-0.

The next regular board meeting will be at 7:00 P.M. on Monday, December 9, 2019 in the Central Lyon board room.

Davis moved to adjourn at 8:43 P.M. and DeWit seconded, carried 5-0.