CENTRAL LYON BOARD MINUTES October 9, 2017

The Central Lyon Board of Directors met for a regular session in the Board Room of the Central Lyon Community School at 7:00 P.M. with the following members present: President David Jans, Vice-President Andy Koob, Directors Joel DeWit and Keri Davis, Superintendent Dave Ackerman and Board Secretary Jackie Wells. Other individuals present were EL Principal Steve Harman, MS/HS Principal and Activities Director Jason Engleman, Ashley Rypkema, Megan Whitsell, Jamie Schar, Bill Allen, Krista Sprock, Michelle VanWyhe, Denise McCarty, Greg Towne, Jessica Jensen, Kristi Wright, Nicki Bloemendaal, Madison Iwen, Jalyn Klein, and Brady Wright. Director Scott Postma was absent.

The meeting was called to order at 7:00 P.M.

DeWit moved to approve the agenda with additional bills presented and Davis seconded, carried 4-0.

Koob moved to approve the minutes from the September 18, 2017 regular meeting and DeWit seconded, carried 4-0.

DeWit moved to approve the financial report through 9/30/17; Davis seconded, carried 4-0.

Koob moved to approve the summary list of bills; Davis seconded, carried 4-0.

In recognition, the United Methodist Church was thanked for the donation to the Backpack Program. Mike Klinkenborg, Justin Overman and Chris Kuehl were recognized for their selection to the Central Lyon Hall of Fame.

In public participation on non-agenda items, Kristi Wright introduced the Foundations of Education students in attendance.

In reports, Jamie Schar and Bill Allen, TLC Data Analysts, presented the district survey data analysis and will conduct the survey again this year. The survey was offered to students, staff, parents and community.

Principal Steve Harman reported Iowa Core is including Social Studies Standards now. Mr. Harman reported that over 350 adults participated in Hot Lunch Week and many books were purchased during the Book Fair.

Vice-President Andy Koob informed the board he will be attending Central Lyon Foundation meetings and reporting back to the board.

Michelle VanWyhe, Krista Sprock and Ashley Rypkema presented information on the Title I Program including the Parent Involvement Policy, eligibility standards and the testing process.

Superintendent David Ackerman reviewed the School Improvement Advisory Committee meeting minutes and reported that the committee invitation list will be updated in the future. The district will once again have a zero dollar tractor lease through John Deere until next spring. RevTrak usage for registration in 2016-2017 was \$4,600 and was \$18,000 in 2017-2018. Mr. Ackerman reported that he and other administrators will continue to suggest changes to the Praxis test requirements to the legislature. The Sharing Committee will meet on November 6th. Mr. Ackerman reported on a teleconference meeting with Avera representatives about future partnerships in wellness, student education, workforce development and activities support.

Discussion took place regarding information on district education and extra-curricular programs and how

the board will stay informed. Board consensus was to continue with administrative and individual department reports as necessary.

In New Business, Bill Allen reported on the upcoming NASA trip to Johnson Space Center on March 22 – 26, 2018 and asked the board for approval of the trip and \$950 for student and advisor fees. Mr. Allen plans on 4-5 students attending at a cost of \$450 each. Koob moved to approve the NASA trip as requested and Davis seconded, carried 4-0.

In personnel, DeWit moved to approve Linnie Ditsworth, Dale Jansma, Sheila Maxwell, Falon Huisman, Cheryl Mans, and Amanda Huisman for the After School Program teachers and paraprofessionals and Davis seconded, carried 4-0.

The next regular board meeting will be at 7:00 P.M. on Monday, November 13, 2018 in the Central Lyon board room at 1010 S Greene Street, Rock Rapids, IA. DeWit moved to adjourn at 8:56 P.M. and Koob seconded, carried 4-0.