## CENTRAL LYON BOARD MINUTES September 14, 2015

The Central Lyon Board of Directors met in regular session in the Board Room of the Central Lyon Community School at 7:00 P.M. with the following members present:, Vice-President Judy Gacke and Directors Chet DeJong, David Jans, Scott Postma Superintendent/HS Principal Dave Ackerman and Board Secretary Jackie Wells. Other individuals present were Elementary Principal Steve Harman, Middle School Principal/AD Jason Engleman, Jessica Jensen, Stephanie Baker, Geoff Kruse, Tana Meyer, Emily Deutsch, Eric Borman, Jen Wippert, Director Elect Joel DeWit and Director Elect Andy Koob. President Steve Sieperda was absent.

The meeting was called to order at 7:00 P.M.

Jans moved to approve the NEW BOARD agenda with an additional board member committee appointment, removal of item 2c in Personnel and an additional hiring, DeJong seconded, carried 4-0.

DeJong moved to approve the minutes from the August 10, 2015 regular meeting and minutes from the September 9, 2015 special meeting; Jans seconded, carried 4-0.

Jans moved to approve the financial report through 8/31/15; DeJong seconded, carried 4-0.

Postma moved to approve the summary list of bills; DeJong seconded, carried 4-0.

In recognition, Larry Goebel was thanked for his donations to the band program to kick off the 2015-2016 school with ice cream and Gatorade. Band students will perform at Sunshine as part of the Middle School band program.

In Old Business, discussion took place on the City of Rock Rapids Annexation of the FFA Farm with Eric Borman and Jen Wippert. DeJong moved to reject the annexation of FFA Farm property to protect the district from future legal action at the recommendation of the district attorney. Jans seconded, carried 4-0.

Board Secretary Jackie Wells reviewed the canvass of votes from the recent school board.

Vice President Judy Gacke read a letter to the new board of directors and called to conclude the activities of the retiring school board. DeJong moved to adjourn at 7:32 P.M.; Postma seconded, carried 4-0.

The meeting of the new board was called to order at 7:33 P.M with the following members present: Directors Chet DeJong, David Jans, Scott Postma Superintendent/HS Principal Dave Ackerman and Board Secretary Jackie Wells. Other individuals present were Elementary Principal Steve Harman, Middle School Principal/AD Jason Engleman, Jessica Jensen, Stephanie Baker, Geoff Kruse, Tana Meyer, Emily Deutsch, Director Elect Joel DeWit and Director Elect Andy Koob.

The oath of office was administered to DeWit, Jans and Koob as newly elected board members.

Superintendent Ackerman asked for nominations for President and Vice-President. Postma nominated Jans for President and DeWit seconded, carried 5-0. DeJong nominated Postma for Vice-President; Koob seconded; carried 5-0. The oath of office was administered to David Jans

as President and Scott Postma as Vice-President. Nominations ceased with the aforementioned officer positions.

Postma moved to approve the Written Rules and Procedures that are to be followed in conducting board meetings and DeWit seconded, carried 5-0.

Koob moved to approve the following appointments and committees; Postma seconded, carried 5-0. In Personnel, Jans and Postma; Buildings & Grounds/Transportation, Koob and DeJong; Policy, Koob and DeWit; Budget, Jans and Postma; Sharing, Postma and DeWit. Chet DeJong will serve as the Delegate to represent Central Lyon the upcoming Delegate Assembly. David Jans will serve on the Lyon County Assessors' Board. Scott Postma will serve as the board representative for the Central Lyon Foundation.

DeWit moved to approve the regular scheduled board meeting will take place the second Monday of each month at 7:00 P.M. in the Central Lyon Board Room unless otherwise noted; Postma seconded, carried 5-0.

In reports, Superintendent Ackerman reviewed ACT test results, Iowa Core Curriculum, enrollment information and projections, ESL/ELL enrollment increases and testing processes, staffing needs and possible improvements to the Elementary parking area and playground due to a projected street project.

In new business, DeJong moved to approve the horizontal lane advancements for teachers who have fulfilled the necessary requirements; Postma seconded, carried 5-0.

Postma moved to approve the construction change orders as presented and DeJong seconded, carried 5-0.

Koob moved to approve Allowable Growth for Special Education in the amount of \$211,837.99 and Postma seconded, carried 5-0.

DeWit moved to approve the 2015-2016 Title I Allocation in the amount of \$77,092 and Postma seconded, carried 5-0.

DeWit moved to approve the bid for A/V System for the board room/distance learning room in the amount of \$40,290 with Mid States Audio and Koob seconded, carried 5-0.

Postma moved to approve a Forster Charitable Trust Application for the Athletic Training Center in the amount of \$20,000 and Koob seconded, carried 5-0.

Postma moved to approve the bid from Push, Pedal, Pull in the amount of \$145,965.60 for athletic training center equipment and DeJong seconded, carried 4-1.

DeJong moved to approve the Wellness Policy 507.9, with no additional reading required and Postma seconded, carried 5-0.

DeJong moved to approve the FFA National trip to Louisville, KY and Koob seconded, carried 5-0.

In personnel, Postma moved to approve the resignation of Sandi Wiarda, housekeeper and bus driver. DeWit seconded, carried 5-0. Postma moved to approve the resignation of Chet DeJong, Director-At-Large effective immediately and to appoint his replacement within 30 days. DeWit seconded, carried 4-0 with DeJong abstaining.

DeWit moved to approve the hiring of Carrie Borman and Yadira Solis, Paraprofessionals and Postma seconded, carried 5-0. DeJong moved to approve Claude Struve, Long term substitute teacher and DeWit seconded, carried 5-0. Postma moved to approve Nola Jones, Special Education Teacher and Koob seconded, carried 5-0. DeJong moved to approve April Sailor, Reading Specialist and Paraprofessional and Postma seconded, carried 5-0. DeWit moved to approve the following TLC mentors: Kelly Weiler, Jessica Harman, Kristi Wright, Cindy Witt and Michelle VanWyhe & Krista Sprock, co-mentors. Koob seconded, carried 5-0. Postma

moved to approve Linnie Ditsworth and Cheryl Mans for the After School Program and DeWit seconded, carried 5-0.

The Central Lyon Foundation's Annual Fundraiser will be held on October 10, 2015 with more information to follow. The next regular board meeting will be at 7:00 P.M. on Monday, October 12, 2015 in the Central Lyon board room.

DeJong moved to adjourn at 9:44 P.M. and DeWit seconded, carried 5-0.