CENTRAL LYON BOARD MINUTES September 12, 2016

The Central Lyon Board of Directors met in regular session in the Board Room of the Central Lyon Community School at 7:00 P.M. with the following members present:, President David Jans, Vice-President Scott Postma and Directors Keri Davis, Andy Koob and Joel DeWit, Superintendent/HS Principal Dave Ackerman and Board Secretary Jackie Wells. Other individuals present were Elementary Principal Steve Harman, Middle School Principal/AD Jason Engleman, Jessica Jensen, Stephanie Baker, Josh Rockhill, Bergin DeBruin, Hailey Borman, and Devin Miller.

The meeting was called to order at 7:01 P.M.

Koob moved to approve the agenda with an additional hiring under New Board and an additional list of bills under Retiring Board, and DeWit seconded, carried 5-0.

Davis moved to approve the minutes from the August 15, 2016 regular meeting; DeWit seconded, carried 5-0.

Davis moved to approve the financial report through 8/31/16; Postma seconded, carried 5-0.

Koob moved to approve the summary list of bills; DeWit seconded, carried 5-0.

In recognition, Larry Goebel was thanked for his donations to the band program to kick off the 2016-2017 school year. Stephanie Bickerstaff and Subway were thanked for food donations to the football program, US Bank was thanked for donations of Germ-X and Karen Van Wyhe was recognized for a donation of pint jars used in the salsa project.

In correspondence, Mr. Ackerman reviewed information from the Iowa High School Athletic Association, the AEA and from ATC associates.

Postma moved to conclude the activities of the retiring school board and adjourn at 7:35 P.M.; DeWit seconded, carried 5-0.

The meeting of the new board was called to order at 7:35 P.M with the following members present: Directors David Jans, Scott Postma, Keri Davis, Andy Koob and Joel DeWit, Superintendent/HS Principal Dave Ackerman and Board Secretary Jackie Wells. Other individuals present were Elementary Principal Steve Harman, Middle School Principal/AD Jason Engleman, Jessica Jensen, Stephanie Baker, Josh Rockhill, Bergin DeBruin, Hailey Borman, and Devin Miller.

Board Secretary Jackie Wells asked for nominations for President and Vice-President. Koob nominated Jans for President and DeWit seconded, carried 5-0. Davis nominated Postma for Vice-President; Koob seconded; carried 5-0. The oath of office was administered to David Jans as President and Scott Postma as Vice-President. Nominations ceased with the aforementioned officer positions.

Davis moved to approve the Written Rules and Procedures that are to be followed in conducting board meetings and regular scheduled board meeting will take place the second Monday of each month at 7:00 P.M. in the Central Lyon Board Room unless otherwise noted. Postma seconded, carried 5-0.

DeWit moved to approve the following appointments and committees; Postma seconded, carried 5-0. In Personnel, Jans and Postma; Buildings & Grounds/Transportation, Koob and Davis; Policy, Koob and DeWit; Budget, Jans and Postma; Sharing, Postma and DeWit. Keri Davis will serve as the Delegate to represent Central Lyon the upcoming Delegate Assembly. David Jans will serve on the Lyon County Assessors' Board. Scott Postma will serve as the board representative for the Central Lyon Foundation.

In reports, Superintendent Ackerman reviewed ACT test results, Iowa Core Curriculum, enrollment information and projections, staffing needs, administrative re-alignment, current building & ground maintenance schedules, potential future facility updates, School Improvement Needs Assessment, and playground & parking lot improvement via Greene Street. Minutes and reports from a recent Finance Committee meeting and Buildings & Grounds Committee meeting were reviewed.

In new business, Davis moved to approve the horizontal lane advancements for teachers who have fulfilled the necessary requirements; DeWit seconded, carried 5-0.

DeWit moved to approve Allowable Growth for Special Education in the amount of \$320,513.91 and Postma seconded, carried 5-0.

DeWit moved to approve the 2015-2016 Title I Allocation in the amount of \$82,100 and Davis seconded, carried 5-0.

DeWit moved to approve new Policy 804.5, Stock Epinephrine Auto-Injector Supply, with no additional reading required and Koob seconded, carried 5-0.

Koob moved to approve the FFA National trip to Indianapolis, IN for an advisor and 9 students and Davis seconded, carried 5-0.

In personnel, Postma moved to approve the resignation of Kelsey Hemmelrick, Paraprofessional. DeWit seconded, carried 5-0.

Postma moved to approve the hiring of Dawn Snuttjer, Paraprofessiona, Danielle Spykerboer, Paraprofessional and Travis VanderStreek, volunteer football coach. Koob seconded, carried 5-0

The next regular board meeting will be at 7:00 P.M. on Monday, October 10, 2016 in the Central Lyon board room.

DeWit moved to adjourn at 8:32 P.M. and Davis seconded, carried 5-0.