CENTRAL LYON BOARD MINUTES September 18, 2017

The Central Lyon Board of Directors met in regular session in the Board Room of the Central Lyon Community School at 7:00 P.M. with the following members present:, President David Jans, Vice President Scott Postma and Directors Keri Davis, Andy Koob and Joel De Wit, Superintendent/HS Principal Dave Ackerman and Board Secretary Jackie Wells. Other individuals present were Elementary Principal Steve Harman, High School Principal/AD Jason Engleman, Jessica Jensen, Sara Groen, Jaci Van Veldhuizen, Connie Boeve, Josh Rockhill, Kolten Bus, Reese Borman, Braden Schulte, Elizabeth Huyser, Dana Kruse, Hailey Borman, and Devin Miller

The meeting was called to order at 7:00 P.M.

Postma moved to approve the agenda with an additional list of bills under Retiring Board, and Koob seconded, carried 4-0.

Koob moved to approve the minutes from the August 14, 2017 regular meeting with the addition of the word "baseball" under recognition; Postma seconded, carried 4-0.

Director De Wit arrived at 7:04 P.M.

Davis moved to approve the financial report through 8/31/17 with additional clarification requested from President Jans regarding the cash balance, payables, and receivables and GAAP accounting; Postma seconded, carried 5-0.

Koob moved to approve the summary list of bills; De Wit seconded, carried 5-0.

In recognition, Jill Christensen, Ginger Rasmussen, Melissa Van Holland and Karen Van Wyhe were recognized for their donation of materials and time to the salsa project. Brian and Sherry Baker were thanked for their donation to the district. The Middle School Marching Band was recognized for its recent appearance and success at the Worthington King Turkey Days.

In correspondence, Mr. Engleman reviewed information from the Iowa High School Athletic Association.

Board Secretary Jackie Wells reviewed the official report of the voters on the board election.

De Wit moved to conclude the activities of the retiring school board and adjourn at 7:32 P.M.; Postma seconded, carried 5-0.

The meeting of the new board was called to order at 7:33 P.M with the following members present: President David Jans, Vice President Scott Postma and Directors Keri Davis, Andy Koob and Joel De Wit, Superintendent/HS Principal Dave Ackerman and Board Secretary Jackie Wells. Other individuals present were Elementary Principal Steve Harman, High School Principal/AD Jason Engleman, Jessica Jensen, Sara Groen, Jaci Van Veldhuizen, Connie Boeve, Josh Rockhill, Kolten Bus, Reese Borman, Braden Schulte, Elizabeth Huyser, Dana Kruse, Hailey Borman, and Devin Miller.

Superintendent David Ackerman asked for nominations for President and Vice President. Postma nominated Jans for President and Davis seconded, carried 5-0. Postma nominated Koob

for Vice President; De Wit seconded; carried 5-0. The oath of office was administered to David Jans as President and Andy Koob as Vice President. Nominations ceased with the aforementioned officer positions. The oath of office was administered to newly elected board members, Scott Postma and Keri Davis.

Koob moved to approve the Written Rules and Procedures that are to be followed in conducting board meetings and regular scheduled board meeting will take place the second Monday of each month at 7:00 P.M. in the Central Lyon Board Room unless otherwise noted. Postma seconded, carried 5-0.

The following appointments and committees were made: In Personnel, Koob and Postma; Buildings & Grounds/Transportation, De Wit and Davis; Policy, Koob and De Wit; Budget, Jans and Davis; Sharing, Postma and De Wit. David Jans will serve as the Delegate to represent Central Lyon the upcoming Delegate Assembly. David Jans will serve on the Lyon County Assessors' Board. Andy Koob will serve as the board representative for the Central Lyon Foundation.

In reports, the administrators reviewed ACT test results, Iowa Core Curriculum, enrollment information and projections, the digital video board and YouTube capabilities, playground completion, a "We Can" fundraiser and a letter of support for the Conservation/Education Center at Lake Pahoja.

Sara Groen and Jaci Van Veldhuizen presented information on PBIS – Positive Behavior Interventions and Supports.

Superintendent Ackerman reviewed grant awards and expenses associated with writing, Early Retirement analysis, ALICE training, the district report card link at www.centrallyon.org, building & ground maintenance schedules, potential future facility updates, revenue bond repayment options and the School Improvement Advisory Committee agenda.

In new business, Davis moved to approve the horizontal lane advancements for teachers who have fulfilled the necessary requirements; De Wit seconded, carried 5-0.

De Wit moved to approve the affirmative action, Title IX and Section 504 Coordinator as Mr. Ackerman and Koob seconded, carried 5-0.

Koob moved to approve Allowable Growth & Supplemental Aid for LEP Allowable Costs in the amount of \$15,142.98 AND the district Special Education deficit in the amount of \$177,145.26 and Postma seconded, carried 5-0.

De Wit moved to approve the FFA National trip to Indianapolis, IN for an advisor and 10 students and Davis seconded, carried 5-0.

In personnel, Postma moved to approve the resignation of Hailey Clauson, Paraprofessional. Koob seconded, carried 5-0.

Koob moved to approve the hiring of Emily Holtgrewe, Paraprofessional, Amanda Huisman, Paraprofessional and Tara Lyle, Paraprofessional; De Wit seconded, carried 5-0. Postma moved to approve the hiring of Kirby Wahlstrom, Housekeeping and Myriah Fastert, Part-time Food Service and De Wit seconded, carried 5-0 Postma moved to approve Ann Langholdt, TLC Mentor and Barb Foltz, Long-term substitute for Kindergarten and Davis seconded, carried 5-0.

The next regular board meeting will be at 7:00 P.M. on Monday, October 9, 2017 in the Central Lyon board room.

Davis moved to adjourn at 9:32 P.M. and De Wit seconded, carried 5-0.