## CENTRAL LYON BOARD MINUTES September 10, 2018

The Central Lyon Board of Directors met in regular session in the Board Room of the Central Lyon Community School at 7:00 P.M. with the following members present:, President David Jans, Vice President Andy Koob and Directors Keri Davis, Scott Postma and Joel De Wit, Superintendent Dave Ackerman and Board Secretary Jackie Wells. Other individuals present were Elementary Principal Steve Harman, High School Principal/AD Jason Engleman, Jessica Jensen, Josh Rockhill, Austin Folkens, Reese Borman, Keanna Postma, Elizabeth Huyser, Dana Kruse, Hailey Borman, Kaden Huisman and Lance Weber.

The meeting was called to order at 7:00 P.M.

Davis moved to approve the agenda with an additional list of bills under Retiring Board, and Koob seconded, carried 3-0.

Directors Postma and DeWit arrived at 7:03 P.M.

Koob moved to approve the consent agenda including minutes of past meetings, financial report through August 31, 2018 and the summary list of bills; Davis seconded, carried 5-0.

In correspondence, Mr. Engleman reviewed information from the Iowa High School Athletic Association.

De Wit moved to conclude the activities of the retiring school board and adjourn at 7:08 P.M.; Postma seconded, carried 5-0.

The meeting of the new board was called to order at 7:08 P.M with the following members present: President David Jans, Vice President Andy Koob and Directors Keri Davis, Scott Postma and Joel De Wit, Superintendent Dave Ackerman and Board Secretary Jackie Wells. Other individuals present were Elementary Principal Steve Harman, High School Principal/AD Jason Engleman, Jessica Jensen, Emily Deutsch, Josh Rockhill, Austin Folkens, Reese Borman, Keanna Postma, Elizabeth Huyser, Dana Kruse, Hailey Borman, Kaden Huisman, Devin Miller and Lance Weber.

Superintendent David Ackerman asked for nominations for President and Vice President. Koob nominated Jans for President and Davis seconded, carried 5-0. Davis nominated Koob for Vice President; DeWit seconded; carried 5-0. The oath of office was administered to David Jans as President and Andy Koob as Vice President. Nominations ceased with the aforementioned officer positions.

Postma moved to approve the Written Rules and Procedures that are to be followed in conducting board meetings, elections to take place on the 2<sup>nd</sup> Tuesday of November and regular scheduled board meetings will take place the second Monday of each month at 7:00 P.M. in the Central Lyon Board Room unless otherwise noted. Koob seconded, carried 5-0.

The following appointments and committees were made: In Personnel, Koob and Postma; Buildings & Grounds/Transportation, De Wit and Davis; Policy, Koob and De Wit; Budget, Jans and Davis; Sharing, Postma and De Wit. David Jans will serve as the Delegate to represent Central Lyon the upcoming Delegate Assembly. Joel DeWit will serve on the Lyon County Assessors' Board. Andy Koob will serve as the board representative for the Central Lyon

Foundation. Postma moved to approve the committees and appointments, DeWit seconded, carried 5-0.

In reports, EL Principal Steve Harman reported that he will present Iowa Core Curriculum reports on an "as needed" basis going forward.

Superintendent Ackerman reported that Homeland Security is requiring that all school districts have a crisis plan, perform drills and implement practices in the event of an active shooter. The district will do this throughout the school year.

In new business, Koob moved to approve the horizontal lane advancements for teachers who have fulfilled the necessary requirements; DeWit seconded, carried 5-0.

Davis moved to approve the amendment to the 28E Agreement with the city of Rock Rapids regarding Borman-Forster Fields.

Koob moved to approve a contract with NCC for excavation of softball fields at Borman-Forster Fields. Davis seconded, carried 5-0.

Postma moved to approve a resolution in support of a Lyon County Riverboat Foundation casino grant for improvements at the Borman-Forster Fields. Dewit seconded, and in a roll call vote 5 AYE, 0 NAY.

Koob moved to table a contract with CMB Architects for plumbing retrofit and restroom remodel and DeWit seconded, carried 5-0.

Postma moved to approve the FFA National trip to Indianapolis, IN and Davis seconded, carried 5-0.

DeWit moved to approve the purchase of a micro rider floor scrubber and micro rider carpet care extractor from Martin Brothers Distributing Inc and Davis seconded, carried 5-0.

In personnel, Davis moved to approve the resignation of Yadira Solis, Paraprofessional. DeWit seconded, carried 5-0. Postma moved to approve the hiring of Klarice Rypkema,

Paraprofessional; Kyra Waletich, Paraprofessional; Connie Jansma, Paraprofessional; Angie Keizer, Geneva Grooters, Barb Foltz, Pat Verrips as Long Term Substitutes; Sam Kruse, MS & HS Mock Trial; Kyler Huisman, MS Baseball; Brad Raveling, MS Track; Kate Gerber, PK-1 TLC Lead Teacher; Ben Docker, 9-12 TLC Lead Teacher. Koob seconded, carried 5-0.

The next regular board meeting will be at 7:00 P.M. on Monday, October 8, 2018 in the Central Lyon board room.

DeWit moved to adjourn at 8:00 P.M. and Postma seconded, carried 5-0.