Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

Central Lyon CSD

Secondary (7-12)


Ajax Loading Image


FFA Career Development

Ag Business Quiz and Quiz Bowl Members

Career development events were created to help FFA members be more involved and help them prepare for the future. The FFA offers 24 different events that are each different and each prepare you in a different way. Our chapter has been very active in many of the different events, with several members eligible to attend the state convention in April each year. The state convention is a leadership conference for members to attend, and gain new ideas for their chapter.


2019 District Results

Three members from the Central Lyon Chapter qualified for state. Seniors Reese Borman and Dana Kruse placed first in their competitions, chapter website and chapter scrapbook respectively. Freshman Raelynn Kruger placed third in creed speaking to advance to state. The District Convention, held Saturday, March 2, 2019, had other note-worthy results:

Reese Borman: Chapter Website Gold 1st Advance to State, Floriculture 2nd Overall team 9th Overall

Dana Kruse: Chapter Scrapbook 1st Gold Advance to State: Floriculture 2nd Overall team, 3rd Overall Individual

Haley Borman: Job Interview Gold Alternate to State, Floriculture 2nd Overall team, 5th Overall

Elizabeth Huyser: Floriculture 2nd Overall Team, 4th Overall

Raelynn Kruger: Creed Speaking 3rd Gold Advance to State

Kade Griesse: Retiring District Vice-President

Experience the Action: Kylee Miller, Ellie Dieren, CJ Van Holland, Emily Harris, Ethan Harris, Brooklyn Jansma- Gold 3rd Alternate to State

Greenhand Quiz
Kyla Kruger: 1st Place Greenhand Quiz
Rex Van Whye: Silver
Jamie Vande Weerd:Bronze
Ivy Delfs: Gold 10th overall
Alyce Schoeberl-Ide: Silver
Madison Van Tilburg: Gold

Chapter Quiz
Emma Pedersen: Gold 2nd Overall Individual
Trey Vande Kop: Gold (tie for 4th)
Damean Kelderman: Silver
Josh Riibe:Bronze
Keanna Postma: Silver
Korinna Thedans: Gold
Mason Bus: Bronze

Ag Business Quiz
Kalen Meyer: Silver
Jarrett Meyer: Silver
Kolton Bus: Silver

Ag Mechanics:
Cameron Borman: Gold
Dauson Heitritter: Gold
Kaden Huisman: Silver
Lance Weber: Silver
Ethan Johnson: Silver
Cael Schulte: Silver
Auston Folkens: Silver
Bryce Vande Weerd: Bronze

Devin Miller
Kiah Thiessen

Ag Quiz Bowl: 2nd in Round
Jacie Friedrichsen 
Kalen Meyer
Jarrett Meyer
Kolton Bus
Josh Riibe

Academic Achievement Award recipients:
Kolton Bus
Kade Griesse
Devin Miller
Haley Borman

The Central Lyon Community School District offers career and technical programs in the following areas of study: Business Education, Family & Consumer Sciences Education, Industrial Arts Education and Vocation Agriculture Education. It is the policy of the Central Lyon Community School District not to discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, disability, religion, creed, age (for employment), marital status (for programs), sexual orientation, gender identity and socioeconomic status (for programs) in its educational programs and its employment practices. Inquiries or grievances may be directed to the Superintendent, Central Lyon CSD, 1010 S. Greene St., Rock Rapids, IA 51246, (712) 472-2664, superintendent@centrallyon.org. Please see District Board Policies for additional information on grievance procedures.